April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

CubeLike

by stuckshut - Jam Entry

Minimalistic Rogue-like. Try to get the blue power and escape the dungeon. Arrow keys, WASD, or Numpad to move (I suggest numpad so you can move diagonally). Spacebar attacks all adjacent spaces. < and > to go up and down the stairs (black and yellow squares).

Seems to be a weird occasional crash that I haven't chased down yet, a few bugs with damage/death, and it definitely is not ideally balanced yet. But, it should be winnable with a little patience.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#269Theme(Jam)3.27
#510Overall(Jam)2.40
#541Fun(Jam)1.87
#544Graphics(Jam)1.87
#1979Coolness10%

Comments

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Quite a neat little prototype you have here, the goal of the game wasn't too clear to begin with but nonetheless this is a really good attempt for 48 hours!

YM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Took me a _long_ time to realise that + and - didn't work for the stairs and that I had to use the numpad's + and -

Other than that, nice and clean and simple :)

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:55am

Nice idea. Lacks a bit of things to do. Maybe that's on the second level? I couldn't use the stairs :(

dick_claus says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:50am

It's interesting to explore this minimal world. But the problem is that on Mac OS < > seems do not work. That's why I need to gain exp on dvlv 1 :)

Erunaamo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Um, Mac laptop. No numpad. No numpad +/-. No stairs?

ataxkt says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:52pm

I have never played a roguelike. Any hints as how to objective etc?

mrexcessive says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Great minimal, Needs a few more things like walls I think to stop being just zombies (old school style). Health through block size &c. Good job!

Floko says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 1:35am

very nice! Just felt sad for not being able to get through stairs because i`m using a laptop =(

good work,anyway =D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]