April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sleepwalker

by disease - Jam Entry

A puzzle game with an adventure game interface. The goal is to simply not die when your character falls asleep. This is done by manipulating the environment when your character IS awake.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#269Innovation(Jam)2.97
#282Humor(Jam)2.10
#413Mood(Jam)2.48
#456Fun(Jam)2.33
#456Audio(Jam)1.40
#504Overall(Jam)2.45
#513Graphics(Jam)2.19
#545Theme(Jam)2.19

Comments

domrein says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:21am

Interesting puzzle game. I wish it was a little more intuitive how to interact with things. Got stuck trying to open the medicine cabinet.

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:24am

Well, nice red herring with the you-know-what. I wish there was a way to key through the text, it got tiresome reading it over and over again and again. But really cool concept and good puzzles, great job!

DaGamesta says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:27am

Interesting. I don't think I can give you points for minimalism though. Graphics were all right aside from the plain red square. I played it all the way through, so I can at least say it was pretty fun. Could probably be more obvious about the fact that using pills next to the tub won't put you to sleep though. Good job overall.

ahm99 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:38am

Pretty cool game. Controls were a bit confusing, but it was fun. Good job :)

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:42am

Nice game! Love the idea well done ;)

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:47am

The dialogue boxes had very long delays, but I REALLY enjoyed the concept. After about 8 frustrating minutes though, I never beat it...

patrickward says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:57pm

I like the concept. Innovative. A bit dark for my tastes though. I was able to take care of the pills, but wasn't sure what to do with the rest of it. Great effort!

free_napalm says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:00pm

It reminded me of my game, where you also have to prevent deaths in the night.
Also a bug I think: I took a bath while holding the hair dryer, and it still worked the next day. Alright puzzle game though.

Yarek says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:08am

What a different approach of what an Sleepwalker can do :) I made a platform game and you went for an adventure-puzzle game. Quite cool actually good job ;)

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:06am

A cool idea, but the control scheme was very frustrating to use. The challenge in the game resulted more from fighting the interface in the limited time than in solving the puzzle.

mrexcessive says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Innovative puzzler. Would be more accessible with fewer keys to remember, or just point and click, or key hints hover over nearby objects. Good job doing something unusual

CrazyGage says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:32am

interesting idea, but as others stated, I don't really get the minimalism theme...

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:52am

I'm on a Mac, sorry :(

May 3, 2013 @ 11:58pm

interesting i missed some sound a main character but i like the concept Good job!

Tyro says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:27am

Cool! I had to experiment with different deaths a few times, but it seemed very intuitive and I learned where to place what quickly. Nice little brain teaser this was, good going!

stqn says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Good idea, but having to restart from the beginning is tedious; it would be nice to be able to accelerate the night time. The game froze at the bath time. The instuctions said to use y but y does nothing.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]