April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Last Shot

by Fychan - Jam Entry

This is our entry for the theme "Minimalism". The team was Fy as the artist and Buri as the programmer.

The concept of the game was "to achieve the maximum result with the least resources". We came up with a game were you have only one shot and have to time it well to hit the boss weakest spot.

Tools used were Flash for both the art and the code

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#197Theme(Jam)3.48
#230Graphics(Jam)3.36
#288Innovation(Jam)2.92
#353Overall(Jam)2.92
#452Mood(Jam)2.35
#473Fun(Jam)2.28
#1979Coolness10%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Nice interpretation of Minimalism. I loved the art. The player's ship could move a bit faster, though. There could have been more levels as well.

peggiosoft says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:23pm

great graphics effects. may the atari god be with you.

Ty Taylor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:13am

On a small resolution screen, you can't see the instructions on the bottom.

LionelJitro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:43am

Really digging the art direction.

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:08am

That as harder than Luke shooting at the Death Star vent! Nice work!

Fychan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:14am

@patrik: Thanks! We originally planned on making more bosses, but we had work on Monday and didn't have enough time to implement anything else. The ship moves faster when you're not charging, but I think we still gotta tweak the speed a bit.

@Ty: I'll see if I can fix that!

@peggie, Lione: Thank you, I'm glad you liked it!

@Minion: Thanks! I actually wanted it to be harder with more attack patterns for the boss :x

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:42am

This is a neat idea, but it's extremely difficult and unforgiving. I don't really like holding down the spacebar to charge the shot, either. The graphics are very nice looking, though. I feel like the timing on the boss or the speed of the ship or the one hit or something just doesn't fit well enough to make it a fun fly-around-and-dodge-the-attacks fight.

angelk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:05am

I have no idea what I was doing wrong but I couldn't figure out when I needed to shoot after charging. I just kept crashing and burning. Nice art design!

Trench says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:48am

Pretty good, just really hard!

Husky says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:11am

Interesting idea!
I like your graphics, pretty awesome.
Good job! :D

joe40001 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:36am

I wish it had audio, that said I think this game might win on Humor. Clever concept game.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:14pm

This is very hard and overally very frustrating game. I am not a great candidate for earth's last shot.
It would be nice to somehow signal robot's move forward in an obvious way so you could dodge it and not just sit in the corner whole time.
With more polish this would be a great game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]