April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A simple world

by thephantom - 48 Hour Compo Entry

first time in LD and my first game using flixel

and i managed to complete a game ^_^

you can skip any text by holding space and return to main menu by using escape

i have fixed most errors so if you got stuck you should think outside the box or you should have the read text before the level :D

music is from a youtube video: link is ------->
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rL0eMG14cR4

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#159Audio3.41
#198Theme3.94
#376Mood3.12
#608Innovation3.06
#655Humor2.09
#705Overall3.03
#759Fun2.76
#890Graphics2.61

Comments

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:29am

Fun concept and pleasant music, but it would be much better if text was shown entirely before skipped - most people can read much faster than it appears.

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:38pm

"if you got stuck you should think outside the box or you should have the read text before the level"

you mean the text that takes forever to display?

thephantom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:17pm

in any other level but level one you can click X to speed text

corrigan_sam says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:11pm

It was good, and fits the theme very well

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Moody. I wish I could revisit the text if I skipped it too quickly, though.

Casino Jack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:41pm

I couldn't get past level 4 (I think) - the one with the platforms out of reach and above on either side. I can wall-jump up to the under-side of the platform, but can't go across to actually get onto the platform, hmm...

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Good game , nice concept .. it should have a restart level key

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50pm

I'm having a difficulty on the 2nd level (where you swim) from pressing the up button... Regardless of that, I like the story and the audio... Good game :D

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:37am

it a good game and its very excited

theomnis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Text was pretty slow and I wasn't aware I could speed it up, but this is one of my faves so far.

larb says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:11am

Very cool. Love the music. Like the ideas. Skipped all the text. I didn't have patience to wait. Damn, just read you can speed up the text with X.

Blinked says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:14am

Cool game, nice music. My biggest complaint would be that the controls are very floaty, making it very easy to mess up jumps and movements.

cadin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:15am

It's nice and relaxing. I liked all the different mechanics. I wish that they would build on each other though, instead of just being completely different every level.

Hegemege says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:17am

What an awesome game, really in depth in terms of story. If only the music was originally yours, I would rate the Mood and Audio to 5 both, but I really can't (everything you use must be made during the weekend)

Well done on the mechanics though, the story is one of the best I've seen in this compo, in terms of fitting the theme. And if you ask me, the slow text fits the mood, but an option to fully display it would be cool.

atraxgames says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:36pm

I like how you fit the the narrative inside the game.

ogropreto says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:48pm

The narrative is the game mechanics... Awesome...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]