April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Nerdogochi

by tiffi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A little Nerd-Simulation(ok, basicly it's a game of skills).

Short, funny and with a global highscore (klick the submit score button on the Game Over Screen).

This was my first ludum dare and my first game ever!

Sorry no web applet - couldn't do it in time, but i will try to deliver!




If you have problems with game, pls insall java 7, if the problem persists send me an email with the error, os + java version
tiffi1989@gmail.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#14Humor4.04
#271Fun3.32
#291Mood3.21
#374Audio3.00
#491Overall3.23
#695Graphics2.87
#758Innovation2.87
#1206Theme2.69

Comments

Xatulu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:29am

Awesome game, nice visuals!

Doccrazy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:29am

Baaaaaaaaaaaaad kitty! :D

Infin8 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:27am

Really loved this! More complex than it looks on the surface, controlling your playstyle with the coffee, nice bit of gameplay tension there. I would assume more coffee makes the score gain/loss higher? The highscores made me want to play more, hehe, but are they even real?

Sebastian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:55am

Interesting game lol, I managed to get about 20,000 on my second attempt.
Not sure if I'm entirely buying that global highscores thing XD
Death to Jeoffrey!

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:07am

Hey, the Highscores are real, but the Submit Score think on the Game Over State is a Button^^

Sebastian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:34am

Ahh can't believe I missed that! Played it again, 22k :)

rejooh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:51am

Very interesting game, I wish I had the ability to read the speed-bubbles when focusing on the internet-coffee-barometers.

Hegemege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:00am

So the global highscores is real? Damn you, I was doing good but got a phone call.

Nice job, this game requires 100% concentration from the player. I can't wait till someone makes a bot or floods the high scores :D (I would tune down the sound effect volume a lot, the soundtrack is too low when compared to the effects. +1 for autotracker)

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:01am

Simple and humorous. I played it through and will play again. Nice touch with the high score list and the commentary as you play.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:36am

Very cute!

I like the top hat a lot!

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:02pm

The game was weird, simple mechanic and yet effective. Didn't really think it fit the theme that well (Minimalistic != Minimalism).

Overall a positive score.

AndyBumpkin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Great stuff, I initially (stupidly) skipped the instructions but figured out what to do quite quickly. Some really funny bits in there, enjoyed it a lot :)

You don't mess with the internet!

Yezu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:53pm

I don't know why (or maybe I do :P) this game makes me think of Amiga :P

myachin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:23pm

cant start(

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:34pm

@myachin os?

ThirteenWB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Looks like a fun game, it's a shame the Linux version won't run.
Getting this error: http://pastebin.com/TwH2CUta
I'll check back in a bit to see if there's any fix.
Good luck :)

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Funny. Yes it does work with openjdk7 under Linux (though I got a crash at the end.)

ThirteenWB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Nevermind about my previous comment, I just downloaded the source and compiled it myself with no problems whatsoever.
This was actually really fun, I have no idea whether my score of around 7000 or so is any good :p
It's a shame it didn't work the first time, not sure how many people would be patient enough to compile it themselves in order to play. Definitely worth it though, my favourite so far :)

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:05pm

@ThirteenWB, tested it on 2 linux pcs, both working... which distribution are you using? thx for your compliment and your patience

if you have problems with game, pls send me an email with the error, os + java version
tiffi1989@gmail.com

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:10pm

@ThirteenWB, you should be able to play the game if you install java 7 (i compiled it with java 7, so its not playable with 6 or lower)

ThirteenWB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:18pm

@tiffi Nice catch, turns out I'm using 1.6. Oh well, I guess I ought to update that some time today... :p

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:02pm

So much fun! Loved it! :D

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:30pm

I had fun :D

neosam says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Yes, my ~30.000 highscore is real

- neosam :)

HackThePanda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Wow someone jipped the highscores, lol. None the less a pretty cool game :D

tiffi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:17pm

fixed the highscore, cant do anything against it --> open source

Ofursnati says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Take out the trash. Smashing game.

HackThePanda says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:43am

I just took look at it and tiffi it has nothing to do with being open source. Even if it weren't it would be easy enough to decompile it and see it's just an unencrypted post request to your website.

PsenFilip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:16am

I think it was a bit off the theme but that was a nice little idea. I had some fun and a good laugh too.
Also, I like it when it says "There are only 3 Star Wars movies"! Hahaha

Eternal_Rest says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:58am

I dont seem to be able to do anything.

nuprahtor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:10am

First thing I made when ludum dare started - visited the http://youpor... I mean http://http://www.ludumdare.com

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:31am

a big lol!

StMatn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:41am

Really awesome game! To be honest, I hate the fact, that trash needs to be brougt out as much as in real life ;)
On the computer-screen there should be a link, that tells, when the narwhal does bacon :P

whilefun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Excellent use of humor...funniest game I've played so far. The mechanic was pretty interesting too. I scored 5870 with 104 hits and 9 misses. The quick time event jab was very clever also, made me laugh. Well done! :)

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:39pm

lol.
It's pretty humor!

Proch says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:54am

LOL

Qaterknan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:40pm

very funny :D

Tifu says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Very meta :P

yellowlemming says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:18am

really entertaining game

MinionStudios says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Hilarious!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]