April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dodge

by Copix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're a man and the potato want to kill you.

Controls : Arrows keys : player movement
Spacebar : Just for title screen

Tools : Language : ActionScript 3
Library : FlashPunk
Graphic : GIMP and PAINT

Tips : Try to catch the mouth ( that give you a shield )
the pan ( that stop the level )

Good Luck

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#258Humor2.74
#858Audio2.18
#1048Fun2.41
#1194Mood2.00
#1197Graphics2.13
#1255Overall2.33
#1282Theme2.46
#1330Innovation1.68

Comments

syawqy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:04am

need restart mechanism when the game is over

FenrisWolf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:33pm

By far my favorite part of this game was the "walk" animation of the main character. I defiantly died because I was too fascinated with how my guy was walking to pay attention and dodge my surroundings. Funny graphics!

CAukamp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Fun game! As syawqy said, a restart function is realy needed. For my taste it gets a little to quick to fast.

Casino Jack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Yeah definitely needs a restart otherwise you need to keep reloading the page (also a way of tracking your score).

Copix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Yes, I'm sorry for the restart... I forget that

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Very cute :)

SnoringFrog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:09am

That was more difficult than I'd anticipated it would be. I love the potato animation for the game over though lol.

daandruff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:55am

You should have a small delay to get ready on before you started throwing potatoes. Other than that (and the restart thing), the game was ok :)

Salamander3 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:58am

Really didn't enjoy playing this, sorry.

hypp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Needs a way to restart, otherwise quite ok

dreamlogician says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:25pm

The game had a really cute vibe. I liked the music and (as others have said) the walking animation, which was silly in the best way possible. It kind of looked like he was doing that Russian sitting dance ("Prisyadki", I think it's called?)

m64 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Funny game. I don't understand what are the lips supposed to be. You need lips to eat potatoes? Or something like this?

marnaouf says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:42pm

a nice interpretation of a classic, simple mechanic

May 12, 2013 @ 7:35pm

I picked the mouth and it teleported me directly on a potato :'(

Sebastian says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Wacky :)

brookman32k says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:22pm

It's really simple (which isn't necessarily bad). I like the humor but it could really use some improvements. Especially a restart option would be nice.

stqn says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Not bad, works well, it's decently minimalistic and having to catch a pan to win the level is unusual :). Complaints: once the game is lost I have to reload the page instead of simply pressing space, and the second level is very hard. I also didn't notice any shield after taking the mouth.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]