April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Undersea - The Excellent Expedition

by wy477wh173 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Some elements of the game may be a bit. . . bonkers, offbeat, odd. move with arrow keys, fire with X. Collect the explorers three elements of himself(Mind, Heart, and Wit). Then kill the Yellow Dragon.

_Note_
Source code requires Game Maker 8.0 or better.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#797Fun2.72
#951Graphics2.54
#1053Mood2.33
#1085Overall2.64
#1128Theme2.84
#1169Innovation2.17
#1485Coolness42%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:06pm

This was a good idea but the game mechanics too from the fun. I kept getting stuck on walls, the submarine should face in 4 directions in my opinion. The art was good but the walls looked a bit too plain. I loved the ship upgrades, though. Overall, it was fun but a bit lacking.

wy477wh173 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Thank you!, The ship getting stuck on walls was a product of last minute changes, originally the ship would bounce for an ammount of time, but this often resulted in the player being exponentialy rocketed around the current area, so I removed it, but not completly. Will post an updated build soon.

onzephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Nice game. like the concept. Played all the way through and enjoyed it. As noted sticking to the walls was the only issue I had. But I just learned to avoid going to close.

Felix20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Noooooo! I got one hitted by the dragon/seahorse.
Nice game, the graphics were great, really. Sticking to walls was annoying but it's not too bad.
A sound effect or two and especially some music would have been great, but I know how hard music can be.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:01pm

I got my tail end stuck on a few corners and had to reset :( Some audio would really help to bring it all together, but this was a pleasant little shooter.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Nice Ship, pretty fun

Hulkabu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:48am

Umm, kay, the wall thing is annoying, but altogether for a 48 hour game type thing its really good, but some things could be better like that heart boss could shoot a little more often, that book bearing guy or whatever could have done something, and the sea horse thing was really where I struggle the most. but other than all that crap GG

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:25pm

love the ship design. cool game

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:27pm

I liked it. Although ship that stucks in the walls gets a bit annoying sometimes, it did not prevent me from finishing the game :) Good job, man.

Purplescape says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:27pm

I love the boss, the story was cool too. The handling was a little slow, but got better with the upgrades.

wy477wh173 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:58am

Thanks for mentioning the written at 4am story. It was a bit confusing I think though. The idea was that YOU are collecting ME. . . .so that's a thing.

tankete says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:12am

I liked the idea, but getting stuck along the corners wasn't fun. The map felt too big so there were long stretches of just trying to get to the next key location. Would recommend some sound/music to help with the mood. I liked the three bosses, but seems like I just died after a single hit? from the yellow "sea horse".

wy477wh173 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:23am

Sea Horse does kill in one hit for now. . . I'll pretend that It was intentional.

spriters2000 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Nice game, but the boss is too hard and the bug about hitting the walls ruin it a bit.

lightsoda says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Not too shabby, like others have said, getting stuck in walls can be a bit annoying.

Jyrkface says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:52am

Fun game, only real problem being the aforementioned bug. I hope you plan on finishing it :)

Benjamin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:34pm

that was a good undersea experience, I like the atmosphere of the game

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]