April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Time Saver

by HELLO23 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*****
Please play the post-compo version, in which the player is much faster.
*****

The Time Saver is a game, played in the Console/Terminal screen.
This game is based on the theme, because the graphics are blocks of the console/terminal, and also very simple gameplay.


How To Play :
use the arrow keys to move - hold an arrow key to move faster.
use N to change a music track.
use +/- to change the volume.
use M go to the main menu.
READ the plot, and the commentary at the top of each level in order to understand what to do.


The game can be played on Windows (Run the .exe file), and on Linux using mono (Mono runtime must be installed).
(To run on Linux type in the terminal : mono TheTimeSaver.exe )

NOTE ABOUT AUDIO :
unfortunately, Linux does not have audio .
If on Windows you don't hear any sounds in the levels, you probably need to install OpenAL :
http://connect.creativelabs.com/openal/Downloads/Forms/AllItems.aspx (Install the file called oalinst)

Level editing was done using Paint.Net
Music was created using iNudge.net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#393Theme3.70
#756Humor1.96
#816Audio2.25
#1024Innovation2.43
#1131Mood2.19
#1152Overall2.53
#1176Graphics2.17
#1209Fun2.11

Comments

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:38am

I think the level design was a bit boring, with long parts of walking. And too many levels lacked any challenge. I quit at the key level because I did not feel like pushing the block all the way to the switch.

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:06am

Very well done , i like the fact is on console that's for sure is different :D +1 for that,

The movement i think was too slow , maybe is you can move faster the game gets more fun

HELLO23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:18am

You can run faster (still pretty slow), if you do not release the arrow key and keep it pressed (but I believe you figured that out).

poohshoes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:45am

I really had trouble with how unresponsive the controls felt.

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:48am

Game was pretty bland, unfortunately I'm on Linux and I get no music.
Overall it gets a few more points because it reminds me of an old game I made in Pascal around 10 years ago. Nostalgia'd like crazy!

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:19am

It seems like a cool game, but same as poohshoes, the controls response was sluggish.

The music repetition kinda drove me crazy after a bit :)

AndyBumpkin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:19am

Hey, well the controls were a bit frustrating. The text at the top of the screen saved the game a bit for me. I didn't get any music either (win8?) but had a listen in the assets folder and it was nice but very short.
Definitely scores high on the theme but otherwise needed something else to make it more interesting. Personally I stopped when I got to the shooting levels (when I somehow was slow enough to get shot and the whole level restarted)

some1 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:37am

i just loved this game so much! you don't need to think so hard about how to get to the next level but a tiny mistake can make your way to the top hard (by that i mean to pay attention to those B blocks). thank you for this wonderful time :)

noa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:30pm

the player is too slow, except this I like this game :D

ttakamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:15pm

I think you were brave to do that so low-level development as using C or something. Really nice and I think your strong point was to be so attached to the theme. The overall criticism was about the fun and humor. But good job anyway :)

Zccc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Great entry! I really enjoyed beating it!

zkenshin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Neat to see Terminal/Command Prompt style games.

HELLO23 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Thanks ! BTW you can edit the levels by editing the images in the assets folder, my code generates the levels by the colors of the pixels.

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Acceleration/intertia could have been cool on the character - it became a bit laborious getting around the levels. Like the oldschool charm and the insane difficulty on the later levels with the shooters.

MegaBrutal says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:14am

I'm trying to run this on Ubuntu, but I'm getting this:

The assembly mscorlib.dll was not found or could not be loaded.
It should have been installed in the `/usr/lib/mono/2.0/mscorlib.dll' directory.

I suppose I should install something in addition to Mono, but I don't know what.

argo15 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:08am

Kinda boring, but the music makes it a bit better.

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:02am

I enjoyed the audio most of all and I was digging the old DOS style. I found the levels were a bit tedious, mostly because I would look at them, almost immediately see what needed to be done, and then have to slowly move my way back and forth across the screen. However, the levels did get more interesting as the game went on. I'd suggest making the first few levels more compact, and make them large as they get more complex.

yellowlemming says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:42am

it fits the theme well but it doesn't seem very interesting, mostly due to how slow it is to move anywhere

BipoleMoment says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:42pm

It was WAYYYYY too laggy on my computer, but nonetheless, it was a good game.

Dir3kt says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Congrats for making an action game in text mode :D The game is fine but the levels were not challenging at all at the beginning and suddenly with level 7 it became super hard.

HELLO23 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:27am

I had some time to look at the game's code and I found the source of the slow movement and lags. It turns out that using Console.WindowHeight and Console.WindowWidth to retrieve the window height and width is very slow. By saving the values to variables once, instead of calling these properties every time, every single game loop is now performing 200 times faster (!!!).
Enjoy playing the much faster Post-Compo version.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:54am

Very cool. I dig your take on the them minimalism it is
definitely there. Great Job

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]