April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimum Reason Game: Hail To The Potato King

by nodoxi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Minimum gameplay!
Minimum reason!
Maximum art!

Flixel + Photoshop + Potato

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#11Humor4.07
#861Graphics2.65
#874Fun2.64
#1003Mood2.40
#1086Audio1.17
#1152Theme2.79
#1192Innovation2.13
#1197Overall2.45

Comments

Bloated Hippo says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 1:31pm

I wish I could do this in real life.

nodoxi says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Everyone wishes

omaromeir says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Lol does it ever end?

nodoxi says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Worshiping never ends

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:05am

I laughed :) very funny and indeed minimalistic, well done!

sparksgently says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:07am

My mouse button is crying

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09am

Maximum worship

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:11am

I feel like this shoud be a facebook game. ;)

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:20am

it is what it is I guess. i like the anti-spam.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:27am

LOL, so hilarious. I said I'd never kneel before a potato but I guess I'm just another perfect potato idiot. Well done!

Gustera says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:38am

Perfect Potato Idiot :)

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:52am

Ahahah so cool!! Well Done!

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:56am

I like how, if you change focus from the game, it automatically pauses. I'd hate for my hard earned rank to dissipate while I was checking my e-mail!

Narayan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:55am

Potatoes rules the world

triplefox says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:31pm

beat 300 points

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:24am

Ahhahahahahahah!
Oh LOL... My god, my stomach...
It's really fun =)

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:06pm

I'm a perfect potato idiot with a finger cramp.

jolle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:50pm

I'm apparently a Perfect Potato Idiot. Not sure if I should be proud or sad.

Brassawiking says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:42pm

All hail the potato king!!

ThirteenWB says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Most hilarious thing I've found so far, amazing... xD

martijn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:01pm

All hail the potato king

saguaro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:19pm

I like it when he sheds tears of joy.

jijaweb says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:38pm

click click click

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:34am

Interesting idea, but there is no way to lose. Five stars for humor.

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:29am

OK, I got to 520-somethin, but whatever. is trollgame

HD408 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Should belong to the Jam division (the background photo), but whatever. Totally minimalistic.

ethankennerly says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:57am

The facial expressions and dialogue tickled me. If you continue to develop this, have you considered an evolution of the instruction, input, and response?

Taro Omiya says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:24am

I want my five minutes back!

Haha, hilarious game. Love the potato dialog!

stevejohnson says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:38am

Can't put it in the compo if you didn't create the assets during the jam, sorry. (Entertaining, though.)

euwaku says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:51am

Wrong theme?
Fun little game, I like the rhythmic changes (coming along with mood changes for the potato king).

TurboDindon says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:23am

Hehe, I'm a perfect potato idiot. I stopped around 300.
This experience is as fun as weird. I think I'm going to eat potatoes at lunch for vengeance.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

galman says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:37am

POTATO

bobiniki says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 10:03am

yay I became a perfect potato idiot

Maple says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:28pm

I will never be a potato. ;_;

MrShoestore says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:00am

Was anyone else slightly disturbed by the mirrored potato background? *potatowhisper* What was that? Are you there potato? I... Obey....

Jeremias says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Alright... :D
I didn't make a rating for the graphics because of the compo rules.

SuperDisk says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:26am

Weird, but also not a game.

It was nice to slap your face into the ground though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]