April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Duds

by nexantic.com - Jam Entry

We spend half of the time figuring out Haxe and Haxepunk since we never touched both of them before.
So it was our first game ever with Haxe and Haxepunk...

At least the core mechanics works kinda and we got a playable build.

Will see if we use the 3rd day (probably not) to implement more features. gotta go back to RL.

About the game:
There are 3 factions (1 player, 2 npcs)
You can control your Duds by drag and dropping your mouse on the background to draw lines. Duds will follow the most recent drawn point if it is near them.
Collect resources and destroy npc factions.

Have fun.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#97Innovation(Jam)3.52
#236Theme(Jam)3.37
#248Fun(Jam)2.97
#251Overall(Jam)3.19
#373Mood(Jam)2.63
#382Graphics(Jam)2.80
#1689Coolness32%

Comments

tcstyle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Great game. Core mechanics work very well. Totally fits the theme.
Ultimate is funny :D.
Btw, yeah HaxePunk ;). (Made also my first game in Haxe/HaxePunk, worked pretty well).

Markavian says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:43am

Really nice little game, enjoyed the resource gathering and attack mechanics.

Orni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:55am

great idea, I've never seen a strategy game with drawing move commands - brilliant :)

I love the concept - please continue working on this, it has great potential

well done !

manabreak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:15am

Nice mechanics! Would make a great mobile game. :)

Hegemege says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:58am

Love the concept! Could become a great game if developed further :P

Yacodo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Love the mechaniscs ! A bit slow but really wanted to complete this one ! (lose two times, shame on me)

anatolat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Great idea! Drawing strategy - simply amazing!

Jezzamon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:53am

Nice game, although it doesn't seem like the actual game mechanics were related to minimalism, just the graphics.

You did pretty well for not having used your tools before.
Protip: Figure out how to use your tools BEFORE the competition, on the warmup weekend and such. :P

stevejohnson says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:23pm

I have to disagree about enjoying the mechanics. The AI didn't do anything, so it didn't seem to matter how long I took. Maybe with a proper enemy it would be more enjoyable.

ivo says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:35pm

really like the general concept, this could turn into a really awesome game if developed a bit further

anjack says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:40am

The core mechanics are solid! Good game!

Spiridios says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:12am

Liked the concept. Could use some audio. The NPCs need to do something other than just waiting to die. Had fun overall though.

nilstastic says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:49am

Pros: I very much liked the concept of drawing paths, very much liked the game as well even though it was short.
Cons: Could have used a few levels

All in all a very nice entry that i would play a lot more if it were more fleshed out.

Jod says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Kinda cool, interesting concept. The ultimate button was awesome.

mildmojo says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:56pm

I wish there was more, even if it just restarted the map with an extra NPC. =) The gameplay was solid, though the enemy was no match for the player. I never had to change command modes.

I'm not sure what the resources did. I collected them all on the first game and not at all on the second. It also felt like the path faded too quickly, but I guess I could have drawn it more slowly. =)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]