April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

NINE

by RedPandaWasTaken - Jam Entry

This is a short top-down shooter game that we made in these three jam days. It was originally going to be a adventure game but due to time limit turned into a arena-ish survival.

It was made using Game Maker Standard 8.1, Paint and Gimp for graphics and sfxr for sfx, title music was made using Fruity Loops.

Use WASD and Arrow Keys for movement and shooting, respectively, ESC to quit at any time and F4 for Fullscreen. You can also use F9 for Screenshots, if you want it.

It's Windows-only, sorry mac/linuxbros. It will probably start lagging after a lot of enemies have spawned so get rid of them. We may have strayed a bit from the theme but we tryed to keep it simple (sprite-wise and level-wise) ;3

I would like to hear what you think about this little jam prototype, result of our very first Ludum Dare.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1864Coolness20%

Comments

mushbuh says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Not really sure what is going on but it was fun

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Cool first entry. You've done some interesting things with the worms and different weapons. I got somewhat swamped with the bats as the game went on.

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Nice "use your soul to defend your dead body" idea. Good entry!

May 8, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Unfortunately I can't rate this one as it's windows only

May 12, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Too bad there were not many different enemy types. After a while the game got filled with bats and started lagging!

bb_buster says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Interesting game. I liked it though I get an error when I first launch the game. If I ignore it two or three times I can continue playing though.
But other than that its pretty neat and I like the different attacks I gained. Good job =)

dalbinblue says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Good game, but got repetitive rather quickly. Two immediate issues I saw: first off, the enemies take a large amount of hits to destroy, which means the entire time I spent running away from the bats, and couldn't collect much. Second, the shooting sound is so loud and irritating that I didn't really get to hear the music while playing, which is unfortunate since the music is good.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 3:53am

nice job -- nice gameplay and was fun.

HelkeGames says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Neat idea, nice game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]