April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ghost Garden

by ceMelusine - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Do you want to visit a Ghost Garden?
Use the arrow keys to change your direction, Pacman style.

<3 ceMelusine

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#326Mood3.18
#328Audio3.08
#638Graphics2.93
#949Humor1.69
#987Innovation2.50
#1104Overall2.61
#1149Theme2.81
#1274Fun1.93

Comments

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:48am

Cool. Very atmospheric. Wasn't sure what the rainbow things were. Also wasn't sure why I couldn't go in the door. Liked the art and music.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:55am

I really liked the very minimal moments of the music. It set a nice mood. I got up to a point where the globes didn't have anything more to say. Wasn't sure if there was something for me to do next. The diagonal pixel art style is also pretty interesting!

Alec Von Arx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:56am

Couldn't tell what the objective was. :/

paulopn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:58am

That was great! I really liked the overall tone of the game =D
Movement could be a little faster, though...

mushbuh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:46pm

no idea what was going on, but it was fun

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Cool game! :)

berkano says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Beautiful music and graphics. Very relaxing to play with!

Rafael Sales says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Good game. Very immersive. You have created a crazy universe!

Elemnir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:57pm

I'm not sure what I supposed to be doing in this game, but I was certainly very relaxed while I did it. Loved the music.

jmf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Nice audio and graphics, movement is a little jarring though and I wasn't sure of the goal. Was an enjoyable ride though!

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:53pm

It's kind of confusing to play this game; it doesn't have a set objective, items and enemies are not really differentiated and many things happen for no specific reason :/

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:26am

Not sure what I have to do in this game (or IF I have to do anything at all). I seriously dig the minimal music. I would speed up the movement slightly to make it more dinamic.

Ofursnati says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:33am

I love this game. I had no idea what the objective was but still walked around and had fun. good job

haloflooder says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:31am

It was a bit slow and I don't know what my goal is.. so I just spread stuff everywhere.

Shigor says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:32am

I have no idea what it meant, since either I missed something or I run out of the text, so I prowled the garden for a while yet and then quit. Moody artistic.... not sure if game, but since I had to wait several before I could get to a text trigger, it could be probably called a game.

Not my cup of tea, although I appreciate the overall mood.

iossif says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:22pm

i have no idea what is going on. still i kept playing :-D

CrazyGage says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:24am

interesting game, but I didn't really feel like there was any true objective, or win/lose situation. So I wandered for a while before stopping.

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:52am

Love the style, not sure what's going on, though ;) Why is my guy pooping rainbows?

gmaker says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:02am

very fun! thank u!

May 3, 2013 @ 11:56pm

slowly movement...but i like it, good graphics, music too, i like it

epaik says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:53am

I really liked the mood in this one

evoker says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:36am

Very nice soundtrack that fits the theme well. However I didn't feel in control of my character and I wasn't sure how I was affecting the gameworld.

MrEvilGuy says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:06am

I couldn't figure out the goal or objective of this game.

But recall: the word "goal" comes from the Old English "gal," meaning "obstacle, barrier." Now the goal appears to us! The trees, doors, flowers, and the physical boundary of the ghost garden are all goals, all obstacles and barriers.

The word "object" comes from the Latin "ob-" meaning "against, before" and "jet" meaning "to throw." What is thrown before us in the ghost garden? Ghosts and globes!

So on the one hand, we have the primary object of the game: ghosts. On the other hand, we have the primary goal of the game: the boundary of the garden.

Yet, most of the people here are blinded by stupidity! They see no ghost nor garden. So they can go fuck themselves in a circle-jerk (or whatever that last text bubble said to me in the game, something about fucking).

And what's with the American spelling in "This is the color of my dreams"?

MrEvilGuy says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:07am

Also, "not sure if game".

May 18, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Of course it's a game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]