April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mondrian

by Kyle Bolton - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Mondrian is a physics-based game inspired largely by Piet Mondrian's De Stijl paintings. The player is tasked with navigating a ball through nine levels.

Controls:
Click and drag to rotate the environment.
ESC to quit the game (only in standalone executables).

Tips:
In hindsight I realize that the controls for this game are rather unwieldy. If you want more control, I'd recommend trying to move the mouse only left and right or up and down, and not diagonally. Also, being aware of when to release the mouse button is crucial. It's not that you're playing it wrong, it's that I scripted it wrong!

Notice:
I'm not entirely sure the OSX build will work on all Macs. If you experience issues, please let me know.

Other:
The typeface used in this project is Quicksand, and is licensed under the SIL Open Font License. This license is viewable inside the source folder, and can be found at LD48_26 > Assets > GUI > Quicksand > OFL.txt

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#121Theme4.06
#268Innovation3.49
#376Mood3.12
#458Fun3.09
#491Overall3.23
#567Humor2.21
#623Graphics2.94
#772Audio2.33

Comments

dualtagh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:49am

Pretty interesting idea, it could be nice mobile game!

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Controls could be refined a bit more. But the game has very interesting design, and I like how the yellow blocks changed the game.

iiechapman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:06pm

This is one of the best takes on the Mondrian art, kudos man very fun, when I was playing I felt like if you could make the mouse cursor disappear when you click and hold it would create a stronger link between the player and the control of the world. Otherwise this game is fantastic, thank you!

Kyle Bolton says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:20pm

@dualtagh Thanks! I agree, but I haven't worked with mobile platforms yet...porting this might be a good way to dip my feet in.

@toinic Thanks for the feedback! Any specific recommendations for control refinement?

@iiechapman Thanks for the suggestion!

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Great idea and great execution. Love the minimalistic artstyle. Nice job!

gameXcore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Looks like we made the same game! Almost, I went with keyboard controls over mouse dragging.

ananasblau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:25pm

keyboard controls would be great, or refining as tonic says. but it's an interesting puzzler, well done.

cadin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Neat idea! The controls are really difficult, and don't feel quite right to me, but the game has a lot of potential.
Good job!

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Nice game, as said before it'd be great for touch devices. I just wish I could invert the controls.

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:48pm

I was afraid too many people uses mondrian for their game, but what i played here is a nice concept. It is a great idea using the colors this way, nice job on the game design.

On the other hand, even if the art is inspired by Mondrian, it's very hard to catch its aesthetic. Becasue of this, the game looks a bit empty but i understand how hard it can be to combinate level design and art.

Great job overall :D

Kyle Bolton says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:59pm

@ananasblau: I originally set out to avoid using keyboard input, as I wanted a "one-button" input scheme that matched with the minimalist theme. In hindsight, I probably should have been more prepared to deviate from the theme, because I didn't take into account people that only had a trackpad or preferred using the keyboard. Thanks!

@Ludipe I originally planned to implement inverted controls, but decided to cut it and submit the game. Next time...

@pereubu Yeah, my biggest concern is that I'm reaching for a low hanging fruit with this. Thanks for the feedback!

tacograveyard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Concept is good, gameplay is interesting, but the controls are an absolute bear. I had a really tough time rotating in the direction I wanted.

queader says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Wow! My favourite game here, so far! Mouse control is quite difficult, but it makes the game even more interesting :)

dook says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Pretty good! Some of the levels were tough, but it didn't feel unfair. The controls were a bit wonky though.

Aquatic Games says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Great game, maybe you could try keyboard controls instead of the mouse, might be a bit more healthier for the player's arm.

Pixelboy_85 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Really nice idea. Moving the mouse up and down on the left side worked best for me. Stepping Stones was hard, but I made it through :)

saampahlavan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Probably my favorite game of Ludum Dare 26 so far. I want it on my phone!

Purplescape says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:13am

A simple, yet challenging physics-based puzzle game. The controls were a little difficult to work with, but once I got used to it, I really enjoyed myself. Well done.

patrickward says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Nice take on the Mondrian style. I found it a bit hard to work with, especially on the second level, trying to get that ball to land right. But, I really l liked the concept. Fun game.

sharbelfs says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:18am

The ideais very good and as a minimalist game, it's beautiful.

fishbrain says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Very very nice! Unique - and challenging - physics and controls.

tankete says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:52am

Interesting game and idea. The controls were difficult, especially after the first couple easy levels. If those were fixed, would be cool!

Benjamin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:25am

Good use of the mondrian design as a level. The drag & rotate is sometime annoying : If I go up to down it will rotate 3 times in the same direction then change, even if I'm a long distance from the center of the screen. There's also a good level design on this game, and a fair difficulty curve.

May 7, 2013 @ 5:02am

Great mechanic. The relationship between the mouse-drag and the screen rotation was sometimes counterintuitive, though.

Nick Cash says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:32am

A very clever idea. Games which manage to be interesting with simple mechanics are uncommon.

ovenchips says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:11am

I liked this and played all the way to the end (took me 9 minutes). I thought it fitted the theme really nicely (I did a Mondrian based game too!). Difficulty and progression were well pitched. Locking spin speak to one axis would make things a little easier perhpas. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]