April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A cube story

by oskardevelopment - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about a Cube, whom actually isn't a cube, that needs to be kept living! A 14 hour game project of a 48 hour contest. Trying to impose Minimalism through art and the minimalistic game mechanics, there all gameplay is stripped and slowly gained through the levels. There are many levels. Developed and presented by www.oskardevelopment.se - best regards and have fun! // Oskar

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#106Humor3.36
#430Innovation3.28
#475Theme3.62
#555Mood2.88
#584Overall3.14
#662Fun2.86
#804Graphics2.71
#858Audio2.18

Comments

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:04pm

I loved the cube-centric humor hahaha

igrowbeards says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Nice mood and humor - mildly frustrating to lose by pure chance by getting stuck down a blind alley though.

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Amazing puzzle style and humor

Moist says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:15pm

A very simple, yet cool concept. Also, the humor is great. :)

geepit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Cool mechanic, nice game

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Very charming game... had to think of the 'Evoland' game from Ludum Dare 24 in that you gain actions by picking them up. The moves conservation mechanic actually makes this game pretty interesting from a tactical standpoint. My only wish is that the framerate was a little higher so that the delay between picking a new action and it being executed isn't that high - this way, the controls are a little loose.

And yeah, dat cube-based humor :D

On an unrelated topic: I didn't understand what you meant by 'Got my eyes first up for this game on the twitter ads' in the comments to my game. Could you explain?

Tiago says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:00am

Nice game, loved the "get new moves as you play mechanic" and the humor!

pansapiens says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:45am

I liked that this game had real personality - something that could easily be lost when striving for minimalism. Actually the control scheme reminded me of some things I've read about providing accessible controls for those with limited mobility. Great work.

lotusgame says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:50pm

I played a couple time, thx nice game

woftles says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:53am

Fun game with some funny moment, good colourful graphics and innovative idea.

May 6, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Nice concept. It is confusing that you can't use the last action though (when there's a 1 in the edge you die as soon as you execute another action, which resultet in my unexpected death after playing for a while, when this final action would have moved me to the next pickup). But it certainly is minimalistic and original.

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:27pm

I don't have Java installed. Sorry :(

May 11, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Fun with great humour, if a little frustrating at times. Well done.

May 11, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Maybe there is a problem with this game on linux? When I press buttons like "gravity" or "left" the effect in the game occurs after an intolerable lag, and then only little by little. Is this normal?

May 12, 2013 @ 8:00am

@Everyone: Thanks a lot! Heart-warming with all the nice things everyone has said! Taking everything to heart for the next game I will make. I am trying my best to rate all the awesome games you guys have made - already rated most of your games and they are awesome!

@igrowbeards: Sorry, I've noticed I have been a bit too sadistic in the design - will try to make my next game less sadistic!

@ShellFishGames: Thanks! The reasoning of choosing a death when the actions went to zero was to depict my thesis "There's no life without actions".

@netmute: Sorry that I didn't include Java in the .jar - Java can be installed swiftly at: www.java.com

@arrogant.gamer: the game works fine on the tests of Ubuntu, Debian, OS X, Windows 7 and Windows XP. Though it seems to be that some simpler hardware has problems with threads so I did get the problems which you described while executing it on a Netbook Windows XP machine.

I didn't have time to fix it until the competition was over, sorry. :(

May 12, 2013 @ 11:39am

Fun idea. I found it a bit frustrating though

csanyk says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 12:38am

Liked the aesthetic and simplicity, but the controls are weak. The number of moves is an interesting challenge mechanic, but I found it a bit unforgiving.

Drabiter says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 8:13am

I can run the game but the framerate is so low. I use OpenJDK on linux 64bit. Glad I still got the humor though :D

Coil_Whine says ...
Nov 9, 2013 @ 5:47am

Reminded me of Thomas Was Alone. In a good way. Much more puzzle-platformer centric than a linear narration "puzzle" game though.

Dec 7, 2014 @ 8:37pm

I'm amazed that someone looked at the game so far after it was released! Cheers for the feedback! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]