April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Filler

by TP2k - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The aim of filler is fill the holes in the grid with the minimum number of block pieces as possible. To achieve this, try to prevent blocks from overlapping when placing them. You can rotate and flip each block piece. If succeed in filling the hole with the minimum number of block pieces, your score multiplier will increase.

Don't spend too long deciding where to place your piece. If the timer runs out, you will lose a life. Try to get as many points as possible before losing all your lives.

Controls

Left Click on a block piece on the right hand side to pick it up.
Left Click while holding a block piece on the grid to place it.
Right Click while holding a block piece to flip it.
Mouse Wheel while holding a block piece to rotate it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#488Innovation3.20
#569Graphics3.00
#572Fun2.97
#694Theme3.40
#732Mood2.71
#806Audio2.26
#848Overall2.90

Comments

AlvaroH says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:31pm

It reminds me Ubongo. Funny game!

corrigan_sam says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Not my type of game, but very well done!

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:29pm

You may not know it, but when you have effectively done is turn Rampart into a puzzle game. And do you know what? It works really well.

It would be nice if there were less insane shapes, or more variety to them.

Hegemege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Nice and funny game! I made something a bit similar in design, check it out :P

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Cool game, reminded me a bit of Chime. Maybe you can refine the rules a little so the player has more incentive to fill the holes. One thing that could immediately be fixed is how it gives you 5 points whenever you place a block, you need to remove that. It seems like a simple exploit to just placing blocks as rapidly as possible gaining 5 points each time. Maybe only award the bonus if they but the block down in a clear area. Or you are deducted points for placing a block that overlaps. Also I think it would be more fun and satisfying to the player if after you fill up the holes it keeps them filled up. Then when everything is full it ends the level and shows your your final time and score. Also you should make the mouse work in the opening menu since it's not a keyboard game.

Stiju says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:26am

The idea of the game is very good. But the rules need to be more strict. Earning points by randomly placing blocks isn't very good.

After getting a 5x multiplier you can spam blocks all around in infinite to earn a lot of points without anyway to lose.

May 3, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Mathy joy!

SnoringFrog says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:42am

I like the idea, but it didn't feel very worthwhile. I ended up just slamming blocks in random places for a while, since that always gets you points. There should be some sort of negative when you overlap blocks or place them out of bounds.

SusanTheCat says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Ahhhh! now I'm going to have dreams about putting blocks into things. :D

Susan

kill0u says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Nice.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]