April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

THATBEACH

by CTATZ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello Everyone! THATBEACH is my submission for LD26 as well as my first submission to LD period. It was an awesome experience and I hope you all enjoy your game!

The game is a 2d platformer and draws minimalistic inspiration from a pixel art style as well as simple platformer. However, the Character's journey is the main aspect for the theme and I hope you guys finish the game so you can see what it is!


The difficulty is intentional and is meant to go along with the plight of the character! Beating the game would mean a lot to me.

Thank you for playing and cheers.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#748Humor1.97
#840Graphics2.67
#906Audio2.09
#1131Mood2.19
#1264Overall2.31
#1309Fun1.73
#1323Theme2.27
#1333Innovation1.64

Comments

cmcasabar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:57am

Great game! Really enjoyed the concept and simplicity of it.

Cybearg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:47am

I liked the art style, but the gameplay is, in my opinion, not good. Jumps are slow and clumsy and overall it's just a tedious game to play. It's clearly not designed to be "fun," but rather to waste time, so I can't really rate it too high, sorry to say.

It may be someone else's cup of tea, but this embodies everything I hate in a poor platformer, except the visuals are nice.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:51am

I usually hate this kind of game but this one is nice, i also like the colors and pixel art here !

Nickardson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:11am

I like the graphics!
Was thrown off briefly by collisions with the underside of platforms.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:23am

Pretty cool, I just would probably speed up (or allow skipping) of the intro. It seemed to take forever!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:24am

Great game graphics are nice and simple, game play is pretty solid and challenging, took me awhile to finish to the end and i liked that. Also the ending was a nice touch.

deathray says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:33am

The way he looks when he jumps make me laugh. But otherwise I found the jumping much too difficult.

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:48am

A bit strange. But not too bad :)

TrentSterling says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:41am

I got stuck on the other side of the tree! :(

Adjotur says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:42am

Fun game! A few minor collision bugs, however they do not impede gameplay. Overall, good time.

CTATZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:48am

TrentSterling, you can go into the water to respawn!

Thank you for all the comments guys! I was going for a more difficult / frustrating game play to relate to the character. I know there are collision bugs too but I did the best I could with the allowed time! I really wanted to finish the game and have an ending. I hope that at least some of you get to it!

Thank you!

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:03am

the collision detection is really hurting the fun on this one ;(

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Nice work on the art.

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Cool graphics ! Sorry could not stand the collision system, too inaccurate and strange. Nice work anyway :)

_Rilem says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:09pm

It takes me back to playing maple story and having to do one of those tedious jump-quests with a huge level with platforms just like your game. The graphics are nice and colorful but the platforming needs some work. The main thing I have with it is that you can't jump through the platforms but need to go around them. If you fix only that, the game would be a whole lot more enjoyable. :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:29am

please dont take too much offense -- but that was maybe the worst jump animation/physics i have seen -- i give you marks for finishing but it was almost fun -- it was also not the worst either -- nice effort

Benjamin says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:23am

Nice intro / Titlescreen :) The game lack some checkpoints. I got really far and was very frustrated to restart from the island.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]