April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Guesses

by Waave - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Created with FlashDevelop, FlashPunk, GIMP, Audacity, and Mod Plug Tracker.

Find all of the items to unlock the exit.
When fixing keys, choose between left, right, up, Z, X, and C.

My playthrough lasted just over 30 minutes.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#474Graphics3.14
#488Innovation3.20
#525Theme3.57
#593Audio2.65
#639Mood2.79
#802Humor1.90
#888Overall2.86
#1107Fun2.31

Comments

intripoon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:05am

I get a 403 when I click the Web link. :(

jcmoyer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:22am

Link doesn't work.

Kalinka says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:22am

same for me ! not the permission to access file

TylerC says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:24am

It looks like you didn't give us the public dropbox link. Can't run it.

nurabsal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:44am

getting an error

berjah says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:45am

same here - can't play 403

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:48am

Can't access it (Dropbox giving a 403 error). Try putting it in your Public folder. Screenshots look neat though!

Waave says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:49am

Okay, hopefully I fixed it. I just made a new Dropbox and apparently they did away with the Public folder! Managed to get one anyway. Let me know if it still isn't working!

saampahlavan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:04am

Pretty interesting. The parts with the screen changing and there being spikes was a bit frustrating. Love the minimal art style

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:10am

Kind of fun, but really annoying.

BigBlackBeard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:11am

Interesting, but some key don't work.

Waave says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:12am

@Super Hamster haha that's just what I was going for :p

netgrind says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:15am

I like how my fingers were all over the keyboard before long.

nicotuason says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:20am

Background colors are eye-pleasing. I wanted to explore more but got stuck in the part where you have to jump through a very narrow gap of spikes about 5 mins in

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:48am

reminds me a bit of prince of persia :) Very fun, nice job!

syawqy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:54am

really simple yet frustrating
good job!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:03am

Great graphics and music, but holy moly, so hard and frustrating *just to figure out the controls*! lol. That said, I liked the Metroidvania game elements. Kind of reminds me of Robot Loves Kitty. =D

robertcalvert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Frustrating to begin with but really fun once you get into it. I really like the music and mood of the game :)

IndieRetro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:19pm

I love this so much! Its really well made, the gameplay is fluent, graphics are smooth, well done! :)

spilth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Challenging. I like the music and art style. But it gets super frustrating after a while. I got the save point right before the "Present" for the Fix key and was getting pretty frustrated.

Also if you play in a browser with a white background it's hard to tell where the world ends and the browser background beings.

folmerkelly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Freaking hard. I am ok with that. Cool game!

r3d5 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:51pm

haha, I liked it. Wasn't too hard to "guess" which keys are to be used. It was fun re-leaning how to move.

Loved how with the left key unlocked, you re-used your levels and had the player backtrack. It's like the unlock / exportation mechanism in metroid broken down to it's simplest form, or should I say,minimalized?

Good use of theme, I approve and enjoyed!

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:40am

Absolutely awesome! One of my favorites of this compo!

Nanolotl says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:06am

Good concept. Nice simplistic visuals. I found the background music quite annoying.

fishbrain says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Very well done, can be a little frustrating. beautiful style.

May 2, 2013 @ 3:12am

Wow, that was frustrating but oddly entertaining. I have to say, finally being able to fix the keys is very rewarding. I love the minimal colors, but as someone mentioned, it's hard to see where the white platforms end and where the edge of the game begins, so I didn't even know I could fall through some areas. Of course, that could have been intentional of you for added frustration :P

-Rosypenguin
(This is a team account)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]