April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ascenion

by kreischweide - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Minimalism from a religous perspective. Try to control the fate and hope for the best.

This went quite okayish for the first LD, not used any of my tools seriously before or even finished anything with them. Not sure about the "fun" itself, that might be seriously lacking. I wasted so much time fidling with the basics of the language that I forced myself to drop a better gaming approach.

You only need the cursor keys.

Tools: Unity3D, Photoshop, Audiotool

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#83Mood3.70
#159Audio3.41
#242Humor2.78
#277Theme3.85
#411Innovation3.30
#623Graphics2.94
#1120Overall2.58
#1236Coolness49%
#1284Fun1.88

Comments

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:49am

Maybe I don't get it, is there a way to affect one's destiny or can we just watch and hope?

ncgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:20pm

great mood and presentation, love the quick cycling through different lives. poor susan, at least she had the best party ever before she killed someone, lived on the streets, got enslaved and died.

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:58am

Don't know how to find out, with choice is the best... is there is special system to find out? 8 of 10 people died while i played this game ;)

Super Hamster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:55pm

It has alot of potential. But there should be a way to see if it's going to be good or bad(unless I don't get it) because otherwise it is just guessing over and over again. Making it have about a 4% chance that you will actually make it have a perfect life.

Thijsku says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:57pm

I like the concept, although I´m not sure how to find out which choice is right. It´s just a gamble, right?

Congrats with finishing your first LD. ;)

Khaldrin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Great visuals and sound - contributed a lot to the atmosphere. Did not really understand my part as a player though: was I supposed to memorize some patterns or is it just "hope for the best"? Interesting entry :)

SirJson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Weird game. My humans always had bad luck ^^

Sebastian says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Got betrayed, accidentally killed someone, had a daughter, then skipped school and died...
Sheesh.

MRvanderPants says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Interesting concept, great atmosphere. Everybody got arrested though, but at least they all had daughters :D

Sylvain.p says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:03pm

The ambiance is wonderfull, good job, but I don't understand if the player can found a strategy or if it's just random.

TheSarcastic says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Wow. Really haunting :O I just didn't get it when there was a good choise to make...

Dohan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:00pm

The 75% odds of getting a bad event for your human make the game a bit sad. The sound design was pretty good.

shotiris says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:16am

Awesome! Almost as fun as torturing a potato :)

May 2, 2013 @ 11:05am

Good atmosphere and somewhat original, but as most people here I don't quite get what my job as a player is. Still a pretty ~immersive experience.

protensity says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Excellent atmosphere - glad I played it.

EggDestroyer says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:00am

Sadly, I didn't get it at all

TurboDindon says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Very interesting entry. It has a lot of potential.
It might be more fun with a few other features.
Great atmosphere.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:58am

It's very cool, and I like all the generated names and events, but I can't figure out what effect my actions have on the outcome (i.e., is this actually a game?)

May 20, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Good presentation and mood (music/sfx). I wasn't sure how to play and the directions seemed random? The most I did was 4 or so without failing. Good job on first LD. Work on the fun now :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]