April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pixel Pusher

by igrowbeards - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#318Audio3.10
#343Graphics3.35
#359Innovation3.38
#505Theme3.58
#626Mood2.80
#634Overall3.10
#720Fun2.80
#926Humor1.73

Comments

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:56am

I don't really see the appeal of this. You push blocks of different colors into each other, but you keep having to change your color to avoid taking damage. The color changing doesn't seem to do anything for the game except acting as busywork. Additionally, the blocks can all just be stacked into a single square without paying attention to the colors, so that doesn't really seem to come into effect either. There are some cool things you could do with pushing different colored blocks around on a grid, but making them all overlap isn't one of them so much.

cacciatc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:05am

Occasionally when I push a pixel I would get stuck in it. I like the concept; a sound effect for the 3 pixel match would be cool. It would make me feel special.

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:17am

Its a nice concept, but sometimes you get stuck. I like how boxes changes and the need to change color, but player needs to be faster to be more enjoyable :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:37am

I loved the concept but I also encountered the bug where you get stuck in a block :/

Good work nonetheless

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:07pm

I wish there was a different way to switch colors to make it more hectic :D

ananasblau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:35pm

one of the best puzzlers i've seen so far. well done, very moody music.

igrowbeards says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Thanks for playing and the comments so far guys. I hate that the getting stuck in the pixel bug made it into the submitted version, but i just didn't notice it before submitting :-/ definitely going to fix that once judging is over.

Elrobo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Neat concept.I know how colors blend but it was still a little jarring for me to remember on the fly. I was not very good at the game, kind of wish I could grab/slide blocks with the character so I didn't have to nudge things from all sides.

Rialgar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:56pm

I do not like that I can create wrong combinations that then seemed to do nothing anymore, also I could not hear the music listed in the credits. I think this concept would work better as a puzzle game, without the player being able to switch colors at will. Also you could make colors mean "you collide with that" instead of "that does not hurt". Of course this would not be as minimalistic, so I have another reason to dislike this theme.

henrykun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Very nice concept, it's simple and challenging at the time.

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Good concept, I dunno however if it could be done in a different way. I didn't understand explanations so I tried to figure out by myself how it works, and I think your game concept is hard to explain ^^

Rafael Sales says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Great game. Very innovative and hard. Good job.

AirRider3 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:14am

That was intense, combining pixels always at the last second! I didn't get stuck as many people comment above. I also felt like mixing the RGB colours was an innovative concept.

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:26pm

PushmePullyu: "I wish there was a different way to switch colors to make it more hectic :D"

NNNNNNNNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO lol, I was fighting for my life to begin with! I encountered the bug once, but was otherwise able to play normally. I could see losing quite a bit of time to this one; already getting better!

Allow me to do an impression of my younger self-

Me: "Push the blue block. Where's blue? WHY WON'T HE PUSH THE BLUE BLOCK??!? ...I'M OUT OF BLUE LIFE!"

Aaaaand scene.

marnaouf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:58pm

I really enjoyed playing this game. The music set a nice relaxed mood that made playing the game both relaxing and hectic. Really like the concept behind the game too. Very clever mechanic.

Zccc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Good idea, tough I lost very fast!

mrexcessive says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:59pm

I think there's a game in there looking to get out... but press space all the time then moving is annoying... perhaps do something with the non-clear combination ? or give player wildcard white cubey for a few seconds after a combo... so can rush the next blocks without spacing all the time.

Test User says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:42am

The idea looks like it could have some potential if there was a bit of incentive or a clear goal, and I ran into the same issues with getting stuck in a block, but it looks like a decent start to something.

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:47pm

I liked it, nice style :)

Topaz says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:20am

Background music's pretty good, and I really like the idea of it. Sometimes got stuck in the blocks though.

stqn says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Works well, but not very fun (depressing music and the games requires neither skill nor thought.) Maybe with upbeat music and if the cubes were moving and you could push (throw) them several squares away...?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]