April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minicontrapt

by R4PaSs - Jam Entry

So hi everyone !

1st Ludum Dare here, quite hard when you come unprepared (not knowing any technology/framework, no plannings, nothing :) ), not quite as good as we expected it to be, but at least, it is done !

Better luck next time they say, and we expect to present something better next time !

Our game was supposed to be a mutiplayer platformer game with riddles and minimalistic communication, using a minimalist aesthetics.

I guess we only got the minimalist aesthetics :D

We used Flixel for the game so you can enjoy it without any kind of installer, make sure to check it out !

Over !

PS : When playing the game, make sure to check the "show all" option, else, the game will be truncated, we don't want that :/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1934Coolness14%

Comments

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:21am

I love these jumping games and this one has the best balance of ones I have played so far. The only thing that erked me a bit was the music...just didn't seem to fit.

MaxSzlagor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Nice! Fits well with the theme, has unique audio, and the levels offer good variety for the game mechanics. Some of the text is a bit hard to read but otherwise it's a solid entry.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Couldn't get past the second set of platforms, I might be a bit too simple. XD

uncade says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:00pm

I thought the music was fantastic! I'm a big fan of platformers, I'd love to see this polished up a bit.

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Audio cut off after a short time, and the jumping physics were a little awkward, but it was a good game all in all!

Aceria says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Good fit with the theme. This feels a little like a proto-Super Meat Boy in the difficulty. Maybe add more checkpoints?

mrexcessive says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Nice straightforward minimal platforms.

CrazyGage says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Nice game. I like the play ideas, such as ninja jumping off walls. The controls were tough to master without easing on direction changes. Inertia would be something to include next time, feels more natural.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]