April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Squeezer

by ticlekiwi - Jam Entry

Hi everyone!
My friend Steven and I (the ATeam2 Marseille) are proud to present you for our first Game Jam, our game: Squeezer.

We developed it in HTML5 and JS with a node.js server.
We don't use other special Frameworks.
This is only a multiplayer game (who work only on Google Chrome, sorry guys.. -_-' ), so just enjoy it with your friends, it's made for it!

The goal is very simple: It's a cat-and-mouse game, except that there is only one mouse, and all others are cats!

Our lack of talent and experience has allowed us to be in the theme of minimalism: a simple gameplay and a simple design. (^ _ ^)

We participated in Ludum Dare in Montpellier, France (yes, we are French!), organized by the Association "Bapteme du jeu", an incredible team of passionate, in colaboration with Kawenga.

Our game is far from perfect, but we are still happy to have time to make it functional!

Don't hesitate to give us your opinion!

Our game, Squeezer : http://squeezer.skillful.fr/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#431Overall(Jam)2.73
#1828Coolness22%

Comments

amymist says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:08pm

A fun little game! I wouldn't mind seeing say, computer players or something because it's a lot less fun when you are only one playing.

Ty Taylor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:15am

Great use of minimalism but very laggy with multiple people.

sythe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Very minimalist, but much less fun without other players.

rwos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:39pm

hm, hard to judge without other players... will come back later

raoz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:36am

Quite minimalist, but nothing to do alone...

xdegtyarev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:43am

Would be nice to play, but no other players are around. Guess you have to schedule play sessions to allow judjing for lots of players

OddballDave says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:44am

Suffers from there being a lack of players at any given time, but once you get a few people playing it's quite fun. Good stuff.

Shigor says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:44am

I had luck to run in someone so I could at least play it. It's minimalistic and might be even interesting with more players (and less lag which is probably my fault).

Anyway... doing an MP game is a special achievement, but it makes rating so much more complicated unless the game goes viral. In a game so simple as this you might have add some bots.

May 3, 2013 @ 10:39pm

I struggled with it alone, but good work for trying a muliplayer game

Cybearg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:05am

A nice technical accomplishment, but this is a game on the style of an original Odyssey console. You get two dots and you pretend you're playing games with them, but nothing is really going on.

For me, I didn't have people to connect to, so there wasn't anything to it and there's not much I can praise, aside from the accomplishment of creating an online multiplayer game.

joe40001 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:45am

I always feel bad when I encounter a neat little game like this that seems like it would be fun with multiple people but without anybody playing it. : /

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]