April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sine

by f7f5 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

HTML5 / Javascript game

Well, you wanted minimal, you got a Sine wave. Guide it across the levels, avoiding the obstacles, by changing the amplitude and/or frequency.

There are 5 preset levels for both, mapped to the keys 1..5 and 6..0 (1/6 being the lowest and 5/0 the highest).

There are 6 levels, I hope it's playable and not too hard to complete (but still challenging).

**Important**: You need a browser with <b>canvas</b> support to play this game. It will not work on IE8.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#14Innovation4.19
#176Theme3.98
#588Audio2.66
#758Mood2.68
#812Overall2.93
#922Fun2.59
#973Graphics2.50

Comments

joeyhammer1 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:19am

Amazing concept! Very difficult though.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:38am

The game's very difficult, stucked at level 2... And I like the gameplay :D

ElScootro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Fun concept! I found your game because mine is named SINE as well :)

Levels are a little too hard. Number key controls are also a little difficult to manage. Maybe you could play with controlling via mouse position or something.

Overall, well done!

niun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:57am

Wow! Bastard hard but bloody brilliant!

sythe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Very difficult, the gameplay is somewhat cool. Mouse/touch control would be nice.

rwos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Very nice concept, but it's a bit frustrating to play - maybe some kind of damage/health system would have been better than dying on the first contact. But it's a creative idea, and that's always better than boring old stuff! :-) Good work!

karlin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:00pm

A little difficult to get the timing right but a very interesting concept.

Sebastian says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Really cool idea. I'd like a bit quicker load times on death though because you die a lot!

kbm0 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Really cool concept, easily understood but the game is way too difficult for my taste. Good job, though!

Super Hamster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Interesting concept.

DaveDobson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Very clever - I got to level 5 then had to stop - too hard. It was extremely hard until I figured out how my commands applied (at the cycle or half-cycle boundaries of the sine waves). Then it became a much simpler thing to figure out, more a matter of guessing which combinations would work and getting the timing right. Very interesting game. The "Bad luck" thing could be shorter - I just wanted to try again quickly when I lost.

Pixelulsar says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Cool concept, it was pretty difficult. Like others have said mouse controls would be nice.

Jorjon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Wow a game with the sine wave? Very clever! Nice and difficult.

May 3, 2013 @ 10:27pm

I did the first level then spent a while crying, so hard. Bloody brilliant idea though

belickim says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Very clever idea. However, the game is super difficult. As you die a lot it's mega irritating to to see this pop-up with instructions each time.

Broxxar says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Cool idea, not very responsive though controls though, made it really hard.

KEFIR says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Brillinat idea! Really! But very very difficult :(

May 10, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Good idea, but difficult beyond belief...

psc1997 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Good job ;-)

Super Hamster says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:57pm

For my game, did you download, or play web? Also, could you tell me what it said? Thanks for telling me that it wasn't working.

May 12, 2013 @ 12:36pm

A bit too difficult and too little feedback to the player. Nice concept though :)

Super Hamster says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Hmmm... That's very strange. Maybe you are not allowing Java to run but it did say that the applet started. My only other idea would be to update your Java.

HELLO23 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Great Concept, I liked the idea, it is minimalistic too. Only black and white, which I liked. For me the problem with the game is that it is too hard - It took me like 5 times to beat the first level, and I gave up in the second level.

Brassawiking says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Really tense when you managed to get through a level. Needs tweaking at the difficulty, but it was a solid game! Really good job!

Simon says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Great idea! I really like the concept, it's really innovative and has some potential.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Nice concept but the level design is a bit too difficult.

Madball says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Completed it. The idea is surprisingly nice, even given the difficulty. I think you should make the game slower, or remove the movement at all. If not, make controls 1-4 and 5-8. I can`t use fingers and a thumb at the same time.

Xanjos says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Pretty interesting game concept. Incredibly hard though.

Roupette says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Good mechanic, but difficult to manage. I return train :p.

May 19, 2013 @ 11:13pm

As a mathematician I of course like this game. ^^ I completed the game, but I think the sine went a bit too fast. Nice concept!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]