April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalistic

by NightDreamer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey guys. :)

Yeah. I sat down and coded a whole game in one weekend. :D

The main goal is to reach the end of the level.
But it's a labyrinth. And do you know, what is far more evil? You can't see the walls and have to avoid them, because the more you touches them, the more increases the counter of the fails! :O

So. Can you beat this little game? Can you be the NUMBER ONE in the highscore?
Have fun!

Version 1.2:
You can now play the whole game without limitations. The bugs shall be fixed now. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#769Theme3.32
#853Audio2.19
#1047Graphics2.37
#1090Mood2.27
#1110Innovation2.26
#1209Fun2.11
#1214Overall2.42
#1636Coolness35%

Comments

DkCub23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:46am

Hmmm... I couldn't run. When I tried to run the jar file with the command prompt, I got a runTimeException.

Frib says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:51am

The game crashes when I want to play another level. Other than that, cool concept, nicely done.

Also, slow menu transitions are evil :D

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:51am

Just got a NullPointerException when touching a wall:

Exception in thread "LWJGL Application" java.lang.NullPointerException
at com.badlogic.gdx.graphics.g2d.BitmapFontCache.addText(BitmapFontCache.java:290)
at com.badlogic.gdx.graphics.g2d.BitmapFont.draw(BitmapFont.java:206)
at de.me.minimalistic.ingame.World.render(World.java:144)
at de.me.minimalistic.screens.Ingame.render(Ingame.java:69)
at com.badlogic.gdx.Game.render(Game.java:46)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication.mainLoop(LwjglApplication.java:190)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication$1.run(LwjglApplication.java:110)

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:51am

Wish there was more to then simply guess and check your way through. Also it crashed after prompting for my name on the first stage.

poohshoes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:55am

Game threw an exception the first time I tried to run a level, worked after I re-opened it.

caasi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:57am

As a game to explore blindly, your game is more friendly than mine.
I am a little confused when I finished first level, maybe add more effects when player finished a level is a good idea.

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:57am

Another crash on finding the exit in level 3:

java: pthread_mutex_lock.c:65: __pthread_mutex_lock: Assertion `mutex->__data.__owner == 0' failed.
[1] 31582 abort (core dumped) java -jar minimal.jar

Interesting concept, testing how well the player can memorize the level to keep the fail cound down. The highscore feature was a nice touch, as you can track your improvement that way! I liked it!

NightDreamer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:09am

@DkCub23: Tried to run it without command prompt? :)
@semi: I will have a look at it. Thank you. :)

Maybe, like poohshoes said: reopen will "fix" it?
Have to reproduce it... >.< :D

myachin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:15am

cant run

NightDreamer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:40am

Alright!

The bug "Can't play level X" shoult now be fixed. :)
For me, it works now.
Maybe someone can have a look at it and could answering, if it now works? :)

Hegemege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:10pm

The game crashed after I finished the second level, right after the level blacked out. The first level and highscore input worked okay. The third level worked as well

About the game itself, at least it fits the theme well. It could have some more gameplay to it, since it's quite a random walk at the moment. It's a solid game though, the main menu looks really cool!

NightDreamer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Alright, thanks!
I'm working on it. :)

Therefore there is the highscore. So you can train you, memorizing the level boundaries. ;)
But nevertheless I didn't have the time for more gameplay elements, cause it was my first time Ludum Dare... :D

Yeah, thanks. I like the main menu, too! Was made with Blender and GIMP :D

NightDreamer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:00pm

I think I fixed 'all' the bugs, which made the game unplayable. :)

I hope you will play it, like it and rate it. :D
HAVE FUN, GUYS! :D

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Can't play, have a mac.

woftles says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:36am

This style of game was featured in the keynote, so innovation goes right down, but it was still fun with a very nice graphical setting.

May 6, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Crashes when I select a level. =/

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:43pm

I'm on a Mac. Sorry :(

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Nice! Showing the general direction of the exit would be good, but it might take away from the experience, huh?

Pisti says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Got the error message on my first start "A java exception occurred" - on the second start it worked fine. I would have liked some pointers to the exit - walking in the level completely blind is a bit frustrating.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]