April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Coconut

by Kyle Smith - Jam Entry

Created by Zach Peterman and Kyle Smith using MonoGame and XNA.

You are a coconut. You live a wonderful life on your island. That is ... until the bad men show up. Use your mouse to click and fling your coconut brethren at the invading bad men. Defend your island!

The OpenGL version requires OpenAL which has been included in the installer and the zip. The DirectX version requires the XNA 4.0 Runtime which has been included with the installer.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#59Humor(Jam)3.27
#187Fun(Jam)3.12
#278Graphics(Jam)3.16
#316Theme(Jam)3.16
#342Audio(Jam)2.65
#397Overall(Jam)2.81
#409Innovation(Jam)2.50
#410Mood(Jam)2.50
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

dcarogame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:46pm

: D fun!

Entity2D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Funny game. Great graphic style!

Roffe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Nice game, the zip did not work though (but the installer did)

liked the art style :)

drstik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Unfortunately doesn't appear to be working for me in Windows 8. Clicking the icon causes the game to pop up briefly and then immediately close.

fysx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:16pm

I like coconuts and you should put the lime in the coconut http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tbgv8PkO9eo ;D.

V0ID says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Very minimalistic gameplay, combined with nice graphics, music and sounds. Well done : )

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Fun game! Well done :D

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Can't play, have a mac.

May 1, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Sadly it just crashes when I try to start it. :/

(Win XP, 32bit)

Kyle Smith says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:52am

Hello Everyone! Thank your for the feedback. If you had trouble running the game before then please try the DirectX port with should cover video cards that don't support OpenGL 3.0! I'm working on a Linux port but I don't have a Mac to port the game to OSX I'm afraid.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:59am

This game was awesome, Love the high scores, makes me want to play more, if only they were online...

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:42pm

I'm on a Mac. Sorry :(

ahm99 says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Good game. Best time was about 45 seconds. Good job :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]