April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dwalk

by Joritan Cety - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Dwalk is a multiplayer game for 2 players where cooperation between players is crucial.

Players must switch between human form and stone form, push each other in order to break cracked tiles or kill enemies and reach the goal. The final goal is to pass all 10 floors.

NOTE: If you get an "Unsupported major.minor version" error, you will have to update your Java... This uses JRE 1.7

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#515Innovation3.17
#567Humor2.21
#706Graphics2.84
#816Mood2.62
#826Fun2.69
#848Overall2.90
#881Audio2.13
#1181Theme2.73

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:13am

Haha, that was so fun! And I love the visuals! :)

glisk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:03am

Niiiice!

juaxix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:10am

java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: ld26/minimalism/AppletStartup : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.defineClassHelper(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.access$100(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader$2.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.findClassHelper(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Applet2ClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.loadClass0(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.loadCode(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2Manager.createApplet(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2Manager$AppletExecutionRunnable.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
Excepction: java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: ld26/minimalism/AppletStartup : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0

----
fix?

Joritan Cety says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:29am

You will have to update your java... This uses JRE 1.7

Hegemege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:27am

Nice little game. Took a few tries to learn to maneuver both players on one keyboard. The enemies were kinda ruthless if they caught you into a corner :P

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:34am

Great Co-Op !

The Jahn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:37am

Fun, but very tricky without a second player. :c

poohshoes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:39am

I am stuck on the loading screen : (

zanzindorf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:40am

That was pretty cool. Very innovative. It reminded me of ZZT a little, one of my favorite games.

entrusC says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:42am

Nice game - collision detection is a bit clumsy but overall a fun game.

A technically remark: try to compile your files to be 1.6 compatible because most people haven't upgraded to 1.7 yet :)

Jeremias says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:48am

The menu seems a bit buggy. The actions relating to the menu entry get triggered multiple times while making only one push, so if I want to turn e.g. the sound to on, a single click turns it on->off->on->off etc.. Additional, it's weird that I can enter a menu with return but need to use another key to go back. Now to the game: the local cooperative thing is a nice idea. The visuals and audio are "okay", sadly the levels are a bit too long and it gets frustrating if you die. In my opinion Ludum Dare games should have a "skip level" button to have a look at all the levels you put time into. I didn't see all :( (died 2 times by own stupidity). The collision is sometimes strange (don't think it's buggy) if you want to enter a small corridor, you are getting stuck in front of it. Anyway, nice job with your limited time!

FenrisWolf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:38pm

The artwork was my favorite part of the game. The game just "looked" great.

I found the game to be a little hard, maybe I'm just not that good at these sort of games.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Nice Idea... Coop is great... need more training for the controle-setup :D

daandruff says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Tricky, but I loved the sound-fx and graphics!

Milo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:44pm

This game was sort of tricky alone (but doable, still). Sometimes it seemed like I'd get into an impossible situation where my guys would be separated by an enemy and the enemy could keep one from getting behind the other.

I quite like the idea of people turning into rocks to crush things, though. It's neat.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:26am

I got trapped in the instruction screen and couldn't play. I guess I'll clear my cache?

TenTonToon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:43am

@arrogant.gamer I got stuck there, too, and got out using the Space key instead of the Enter key I'd used on the rest of the menus.
It looks like an overlook.

TenTonToon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:45am

Nice entry, with an intriguing concept that unfortunately is kinda hard to play solo. On the other hand, it could be seen as a great way to improve your ambidexterity! :D

Congratulations! :)

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:09am

Very amusing, difficult without a 2nd player

Jed Mayberry says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:12am

Hard to play solo! But still fun.

gmaker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:15am

nice graphics

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:32am

Very cool coop game! I like the graphics, and the kill mechanic :)

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:25am

Great fun, and I love the look of it. Pixel art just doesn't get old for me :)

rujo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:24am

i like the graphic style!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:45am

Nice to see a coop game !

henrykun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Nice game!! :) and very hard

doobdargent says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Floor #3 hurt the eyes! :p

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:59pm

I wish that I could play it, but it seems that I have no friends. I thought I could do it...but no. I like the audio at least.

tonic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Nice, I like the cooperation aspect! Too bad I didn't have anybody to try out with right now, but I tried to play anyway, having my left and right hand co-op with each other. :)

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Pretty cool, though very hard to control two players at once!

dasrkrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Good concept!

Griz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Interesting concept. I enjoy trying out coop LD games with such player interaction mechanics, while most of the other games are just about controlling a square to move it to other square triggering a win. *Blames the theme*.

Wiering says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Very hard to play. But it could be fun with some tweaking.

derdragon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Don't really have a 2nd person to play this with, but I approve of the multiplayer on one computer thing. I miss those days.

JFlegle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Great idea, love the concept, music cut out for me on level 2.

pentaphobe says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:03am

Can't wait to try it with another person!

foreveralone

BrainSlugs83 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:41am

In the menus, most places you can press enter or space but some of them only allow space -- when enter didn't work, I thought the app had frozen -- I tried a bunch of other keys before it occurred to me to try space!

Beldarak says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:05am

I played with my girlfriend... my right hand ! It's difficult... The game looks good, too bad I don't have another player at disposition.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:08am

Pretty good game. It's a bit difficult, but I'm sure that that could be fixed with some tweaking. Good job!

netguy204 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:52am

This was a really interesting and innovative idea. When I read the instructions my first thought was "this will never work"... but then it did. It was actually not that hard to move both characters at once. It was really hard to remember which character responded to which shift key because I was constantly flipping their order.

The enemies are really predictable and not very interesting. I actually think the game would be better if it were turn based instead of realtime.

Very clever idea. I may borrow mechanic at some point and try to flesh it out a bit.

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:43am

I'll have to replay this with a friend. I love coop games! Still had fun trying to play it by myself, nice job :D

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:00am

I like the fact about controlling two character at once, but it's pretty easy to get stuck and die.

Smaxx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:35am

Nice idea, but my biggest gripe is possibly the forced coop and rocks getting stuck on tiny Corners (while you're being unable to move due to enemies nearby). It could need some short tutorial stage rather than a wall-of-text instruction.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Cool game.

lotusgame says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:20am

Nice start ! Too bad characters stick to ennemies and rocks. Anyway i like the coop gameplay. Very novel !

Thijsku says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Nice concept! Too bad it's getting a bit boring after a few levels. We love the graphics! Perhaps some music would be nice though!

Good job. :)

Kiwiboi says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Haha even though it was really difficult and frustrating me and my friend had so much fun :D Great job!

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Really fun to play. Nice co-op. The graphics somehow reminds me Dangerous Dave.

Prelucid says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Wish I had a second player to test. Always nice to see coop games though.

May 2, 2013 @ 10:30pm

quite enjoyed it ..even tho i had to play both players myself (lack of interested friends ;( good job :)

peaveyj says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:58am

Tricky game, but fun. Nice job.

cakemonitor says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:27am

I really enjoyed playing this. A nice idea and good use of colour too.

Pinkerator says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:46am

Funny one :) Zelda style? ;)

lasergans says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Amazing! Great concept. Is a lot of fun :))

May 3, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Quite challenging and despite a slightly inconsistent collision detection, I think I can say that I enjoyed this game quite a bit. Maybe, it's the visuals! xD

May 4, 2013 @ 1:49am

The game crashes in instructions and i don't can back to menu.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:01am

very hard -- especially without another player -- great effort.

KunoNoOni says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:04pm

what a very unique game! great use of theme.

JohnnySix says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Liked the concept, would've been cool to have a single player version with just the rock/potato - I didn't have a friend to play with so was operating both players at once. If you develop further please add some more sound fx too, what you have is cool - some moving /pushing sounds and music would be extra great.

Purplescape says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:48pm

I like the dynamic use of the two characters. I kept running into walls in tunnels because the collisions were exact to the player. Good job making an interesting co-op!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]