April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Less qq, more pew-pew

by MauMaGau - 48 Hour Compo Entry

HTML5 top-down shoot-em-up with 15 rounds.
Requires a mouse & keyboard.
Works in Chrome & Firefox, probably in Safari. Very broken in IE.
Your feedback is adored =D

Ammo won't regen when you move,
Health won't regen when you shoot;
Less is more ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#270Theme3.86
#416Fun3.14
#457Overall3.26
#603Humor2.17
#748Innovation2.89
#966Mood2.45
#968Graphics2.51

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Great ending. Beat it on the first run through, but felt like I was going to die at several points on the way. Very well balanced and paced, as well as a really neat mechanic to begin with. Great job. Will make sure I come back and rate later.

sanojian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Very smooth and fun game. I wish you could move and shoot at the same time.

CogComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Nice learning curve. Definitely my favourite game so far!

dualtagh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:50pm

very nice!

Rafael Sales says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Good idea.

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Some of those baddies are nasty! Nice but pretty hard game.

sfernald says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Had difficulty because it seemed like it wouldn't shoot properly.

queader says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Simple, hard and very cool! :)

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:50pm

lol, "Lose." in itty-bitty text! It's so... <i>understated</i>. Yes.

I'll keep trying!

rwos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Nice minimalistic art style. I also like that standing still and doing nothing is part of the game mechanics. Sound would have been cool. But overall it's a really nice game to play! Great job!

avidgamerNino says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:45pm

I can't move and shoot. AWWWWWW! Nice and simple, staying toward the theme

TheSarcastic says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:37pm

One of the best I've played in this LD so far. Really well polished. Feels good to shoot and move, it's fair when I'm hit. Just the right ammount of stuff, really. Improvments? I'd say that some sounds could help with the experience, and graphics on a long term. Cheers!

gre says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Very good game, progressing and addictive, it becomes very hard to survive especially when moving to a new level (you have to be super reactive, I would love to have some seconds before the level to start to anticipate my move)
Would be great with some audio too :)

MauMaGau says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Thanks everyone for your great feedback =) Thanks to you, there will be a version two, hopefully this weekend.

GranaDa says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:35pm

"Less qq, more pew-pew" and even more fun! :)

netmute says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:19pm

"Oh, I think I got this, I will just.... AH THESE BASTARDS FIRE BACK". Nice one :) I liked that the core mechanic was inspired by the theme.

May 2, 2013 @ 9:39pm

That escalated quickly. Not sure how the shooting mechanism works, maybe if it was a bit more clear it would be less frustrating. Good minimal style.

playvue says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Lol, great game! Got REALLY hard REALLY quick though! (Damn those evil circles!)

someone says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Very nice. I really like the conflict the core mechanic creates. An nice break from the infinite shooting these games usually have.
Chugged a bit on the later levels when the screen was covered in bullets.
Them circles are evil.

MauMaGau says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:23pm

QQPP2 is up and running on http://dtownsend.co.uk/dev/qqpp2/
But please rate the original for Ludum Dare =)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]