April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Survival Shape

by johnnymallie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here is my First LD Game : Survival Shape

You will need Java installed to run the game( it's a .jar )
Double click on it should work, if not, right click, run with , Java (TM) Platform

It should work for Windows, Linux & OS/X , as long as Java (1.6) is installed.

EDIT 30/04 : I've deleted linux & os/x links, there is apparently some problem :( . The game works fine on WIN 7/8 , I've got 5 people who tried it, i'll try to fix for the other platforms
EDIT 30/04 : Linux & os/x links are back. Remember that you need to have the permission on the files to execute it :) Or you can try with the command line : java -jar pathtothejar

The launch is pretty slow (the song loader take quite some time ( 3-4 sec ) and i don't have the time to see what's wrong ).
Controls :
Left/Right Arrow : rotate
Up Arrow : go Forward
P : Shoot

Goal : Survive as long as you can ( You have 3 HP ), shoot the ennemies with P and try to have fun )

Tools :
IDE : Eclipse
Engine : Slick2d
Sound Effect : sfxr / Audacity
The main music come from http://www.nosoapradio.us/
Graphics : Paint.NET, Photoshop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#374Audio3.00
#922Fun2.59
#956Theme3.09
#973Graphics2.50
#1003Mood2.40
#1027Overall2.70
#1292Innovation1.87
#1535Coolness40%

Comments

kreddor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:34pm

I get "Error: Invalid or corrupt jarfile LD26-1.6RUN.jar"
Tried both with java 6 and 7 :-/

johnnymallie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Hi kreddor :)
Can you describe what are you spec ? the OS and stuff ?
Thanks :)

Arcana says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Lovely music. Is it an original composition or something else?

The gameplay is solid but a little simple. I think one of the biggest improvements would be acceleration and deceleration of the ship, or some kind of mechanic related to the bullets.

Also, the P button to shoot was difficult because it's too close to the Arrow Keys and thus gets my hands cramped up.

Nice job, keep it up!

johnnymallie says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Hello Arcana, The main music come from http://www.nosoapradio.us/

smealum says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:10pm

nice start but the game felt much too easy. there wasn't really any point in moving around and one-shot kills when the enemies are so slow felt overpowered. so as I said, good start, but you could probably make it a much more interesting game !

Jonny D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Using premade music isn't allowed, but the game is decent in its own right. I would have liked something more though, so I didn't just sit in the middle spinning and shooting.

Jonny D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Also, what kind of keyboard layout has 'P' in a comfortable place??

spacechase0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:15pm

I got about 35,000 points. :)

Maybe you could speed the ship up a little, and add some pentagons (or something) that shoot back?

bowlercaptain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:18pm

It's a good start. As others have stated, it could be made more difficult - having the circles require more than one shot would help. The difficulty could also scale up a bit faster.

johnnymallie says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Thanks everyone for the feedback :) Very appreciated

Jonny D : i've use P cause it's in the same spot for QWERTY & AZERTY layout. ( At first it was on Enter but there was a hardware problem that sometimes didn't allow me to shoot )

queader says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Nice game! And the only one thing I would change is to have more bullets on higher levels :)

gmaker says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:58am

nice game! great job man!

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:39pm

I don't have Java installed. Sorry :(

V0ID says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Fits the theme well and looks good : )
I like it : )

Snail_Man says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Arrows + p? Not exactly comfortable controls. Good game though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]