April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalism Tower Defense

by Rubricet - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A pretty simple (or you could say minimalist) tower defense game. The game itself is never ending, with the map layout being randomised at the start of the game. Each wave is also randomised among three different enemy types, and you have three types of tower to combat these.

The pathfinding is a little iffy to say the least, but it gets the job done (mostly).

This has been my first attempt at a Ludum Dare, and it's been great!

Both of the download links are the same as I included the source in the original zip.

Edit: Quick extra note: If the enemies become stuck, either at the start or sitting on a gem, it'll mean that their path was broken. Best way to get around that issue is to sell one the tower that broke the path, which is usually the tower that was last placed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#408Fun3.15
#633Humor2.12
#641Audio2.55
#721Overall3.00
#722Theme3.37
#962Mood2.46
#983Graphics2.48
#1169Innovation2.17

Comments

Tate says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:27am

The concept behind this is amazing for a 48 hour compo. Great job in pulling off this much. Very hard, but fun!

The only thing I noticed as a bad thing was that when you build a tower on the bottom of the screen, it's impossible to sell it since it goes off the screens edge. Otherwise, I didn't even notice any REAL issues with the path finding. For the most part, the computer was running over me haha.

Rubricet says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:39am

Thanks, I'm glad you liked it!

That issue was an annoying one (the same happens if you build too close to the top and you can't upgrade). Unfortunately I didn't get around to fixing it in time.

MagiMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:14am

I ran into a lot of bugs. If you build a tower while the enemies are on screen, they go off the grid trying to update their paths. After a while, it wouldn't let me build new towers and eventually the enemies got stuck in the doorway.

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:18am

Cool execution, although I think I "broke" it - the enemies didn't come out from the hole, just stood there and my only tower killed them all. :]

Rubricet says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:34am

If the enemies stop moving, it means that their path has been broken, you can get around it by selling the last tower that you placed (that's usually the one that did it).

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:53am

Nice. Very difficult unless you block the entrance, but well made otherwise.

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:43am

Very fun, amazing work for this short a period.
One thing: I got stuck between two moving walls, not sure if that is design.

m64 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Very nice game. There is an easy winning strategy where you place an explosive tower at the level entry, however overall this is a great production for 48 hours.

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Very nice idea. Matches the theme very well. I did however run into a bug where the enemies kept getting stuck and my towers couldn't reach them.

Nice work for 48 hrs.

Kvisle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Works fine in Linux, just run it like this;

java -jar LD48.jar


I managed to cover the entrance with a tower, making it impossible to lose.

The UI could use some work, since the circular menu can appear partly off-screen, some choices are unavailable for certain cells.

I like it! Good job.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Good TD game. I wish I had a slowdown turret though, those fast enemies are irritating :3

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Nice job... I blocked the entrance and they didn't break down the towers, so they just got shot over and over again...
Sometimes I lost the ability of building new towers, don't know why...

pansapiens says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:17am

I really like the gem stealing variation, and the balance seemed reasonably well tuned (having also done a tower defense type game for my entry and not getting the balance quite right, I appreciate how tricky this can be :) ).

Tyro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Well hey, I was surprised that this was the first tower defense game I'd seen for the LD. It seemed like a genre that you could apply minimalism to easily.

It seems a little glitchy at times. The giant red and green spheres will sometimes collide with the wall and just stop, rather than trying to escape with my green triangles. I also couldn't place my tower on one occasion after starting the game. But you know, it's fun when it works. Good going!

cardboard says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:48am

It's like I am composing music as I destroy enemies :D I normally don't enjoy tower defense games all that much, but yours was minimal enough that I didn't have to worry about which towers to get and where to place them. I like the bullets effects. Great game and great job.

Doublecaster says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:28pm

This was really good game. I really liked the fast pace of this game. It could have somehow shown how many towers you can build.
Also at some point when I tried to reposition some of my towers I sold one but couldn't build a new one after that.

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:38pm

I'm on a Mac. Sorry :(

jadams says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:20pm

There are a few bugs, as people have mentioned already. Also some visual indication of the upgrade level of the towers would help.

A solid tower defense otherwise.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]