Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 26

April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bayou - paulmcgg - Jam Entry

Bayou was created by Paul Andrew McGee & Sam Gross

Look with the mouse
Aim with right mouse button then
Throw with left mouse button

Steer with A and D
Speed up with W

You have one spear.

http://www.mcggames.com

View paulmcgg's journal. | View all entries by paulmcgg

Ratings

Coolness65%
#5Mood(Jam)4.35
#7Audio(Jam)4.18
#11Graphics(Jam)4.57
#74Theme(Jam)3.88
#75Overall(Jam)3.67
#85Innovation(Jam)3.57
#320Fun(Jam)2.78
#368Humor(Jam)1.74

Comments

wallmasterr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:04am

This game is awesome! Its realy nice to see other people working on buitiful npr stuff for games(Im working on my hours project in the same styles). Animating textures always go down well in this sort of style :D. Ont thing though , the trees could have done with a little more variation(mabie its to fit in with minimal, but a 3d mesh with a scaled outline mesh at differnt angles would have crated something a bit more varied), but apart from that it was realy good, i thoguht nothign was gona happen but then , whaa whats that monster and , jump WHAAA a bird. Well done , vote this game 5stars for graphics because we need more like it.

paulmcgg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:32am

Thanks dude! We actually have a bunch more tree assets but late last night it was a choice between those or the bird. ;) I have a big ole list of tweaks and improvements I didn't get in, so hopefully over the next few days I'll finish an improved non-LD version of the game.

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Massive download, but really, really cool! Loved how atmospheric it was.

Dohan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:10pm

I really loved the art style of this game!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Very good, extremely good design !

paulmcgg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Added Mac & Web links. Also compressed the sound files so should be a lot more downloadable. :D

RexSpaceman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Very nice visuals and audio. Couldn't really figure out the "game" of it though. Threw the spear at a bird (am I suppose to?) and then no more spear, wandered around for another minute or so.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Very nice artwork and sound! Really set quite a mood. I felt like a croc was going to snap my boat in half any second.

tiffi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:17pm

awesome sound and graphics!

goerp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Mood 5/5! And the other stuff also excellent.
To be honest I didn't get the monster.

Is as much an experience as a game.

JessePB says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Love the mood of this game. Very evocative.

Well done!

JessePB says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Ah! Played again and got him. Wonderful!

paulmcgg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Awesome! Thanks for playing.

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Really lovely world. I got confused because I didn't realise I'd already thrown my spear, but I was perfectly content to drift around :)

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Thanks for checking out my game! Love this :D Very unique look and feel. great job

dook says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:51pm

This is definitely my new favourite! Love everything about it. Most other good games so far have felt like good prototypes of something bigger, but I'm not sure you could add anything to this :) Well done.

Tyro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:42am

Terrific atmosphere! I threw my spear into the water at one point and just kept floating to enjoy the ambiance. Can that croc in the distance ever knock your boat over?

May 2, 2013 @ 12:44am

Excellent entry! Definitely artsy game done right!
However i felt the pacing needed some work, besides that, great job. The visuals and the music really sold it for me.

Tsuki_Usagi says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:28am

the visual and audio are really nice but I can't quite figure out what the game is about...

I spent most of the time enjoying the scenario more than playing

Tsuki_Usagi says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:30am

but yeah, great work, and thanks for checking out our game :)

bytegrove says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Very beautiful and stylistic game. The broad brush strokes reminds me a little of okami. The game is very slow paced, but the ending makes it worth it in my opinion. Very good ending, very spiritiual, I don't want to spoil anything, but it really puts the hunt into perspective and makes you think of what it might symbolize. You're gonna get lots of stars! :)

paulmcgg says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Thanks for trying the game. :) @bytegrove Really nice to hear that.I'm a very keen proponent of slow media but it's tough to know if I got the balance right (I think I could tweak it some). Probably in a setting such as LD, about trying lots of things quickly and when people don't know how 'finished' something is, I probably should have erred on the more immediate.

Okami is great; minimalist Japanese art was a huge inspiration for the look.

Greg Power says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:31pm

A unique and really beautiful visual style. The audio was fantastic as well. Makes me excited to build worlds.

May 5, 2013 @ 2:33pm

I guess I didn't succeed at doing what I was supposed to do, but it was a very nice experience. Quite captivating.

recursor says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:49pm

The game art is lovely and goes nicely with the music. Everything combined together creates a great atmospheric experience. I didn't realize I only had one spear until I threw it into the water and was unable to throw another (haha - I just read your instructions above - silly me). At first I wandered through the swamp just looking around at everything, but then I saw it and I knew what I had to do. This was a great experience.

cwilloughby says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:04am

This is very cool. I love the art and audio. The ambiance. Love the positional audio. Excellent work!

Test User says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:55am

The graphics and sounds were awesome. Reminded me a lot of Antichamber's feel. I've played with Unity some, but I don't know the gritty details, so I'm wondering is npr easy to do in Unity? Like do you need to import any special shaders or are they included maybe?

zkenshin says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Excellent entry. Well done. :)

EggDestroyer says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:21am

It took me a while to understand what I was supposed to do (and I instantly lost my spear) and I couldn't "do it", and eventually got bored. Still, the sole atmosphere (audio & visual) of the game kept me in for a while as it's very, VERY well done :)

JustinMullin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Beautiful and immersive! I love the washed out, pencil drawn visuals.

MinionStudios says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 1:03am

Freakin epic! amazing art style too.

Orni says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:31am

the art ... I love it!

this game may have the coolest visual style I've seen so far this LD. very well done (the game itself is great as well)

:)

mildmojo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:37am

Unity? Got a Linux build?

Fadobo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:32am

Beautiful, soothing experience, but I have the feeling I didn't really get it as a game.

Taro Omiya says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:18am

Dude, one spear is too cheap!
Joke aside, well-done with the water-painting graphics style and post-image (I think) effects.

someone says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:08pm

That was great. Excellent atmosphere and great artistic style.
Only one spear and long retrieval time impeded figuring out how the spear handled. Didn't manage to hit anything.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:09pm

The control don't works on my computer but the graphic design and the sound are great. Good work.

paulmcgg says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Agh! Sorry about that Sylvain.

Probably very late now but uploaded a Linux build mildmojo. Hope it works!

paulmcgg says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 11:06am

@'Test User' - The look is a mixture of a few custom shaders, clever depth masking and the art assets.

Xanjos says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 11:49am

Loved the visual style and combined with the excellent audio, the mood was just absolutely perfect.

alts says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:35am

This is fantastic. I drifted aimlessly at first, very wary of throwing my spear, as I was told I only had one. Decided to follow some of the sound queues and stumbled upon what it seems is the true objective of the game. I don't want to spoil anything, but the audio was haunting, and hurling my spear into the "dark" to the side of my boat, and hearing it land, was a really exciting moment. Very well done.

mildmojo says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Brilliant mood. The visuals, an inverted night scheme, really did it for me. Excellent, beautiful audio work, too--a very complete audio environment. I liked it a lot when the rain intensified. =)

I have to admit, I couldn't tell whether the spear's crazy looping, gravity-defying, target-avoiding flight was intentional. I have to assume it was, but I had trouble figuring out exactly what it meant.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]