April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MINLIFE

by DesignerNap - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a minimalist take on things I do and experience most days. By taking a minimalist view on the visuals I have created an atmospheric little story with various levels of interaction and intrigue.

This was made using Game Maker, all graphics and sounds are my own from my imagination and any living coincidences to peoples who may or may not be collected on the way to work are purely fictitious or something that sounds legal.

UPDATE 1:
a couple of people have asked me for controls. With the theme being minimalism I wanted people to pick up and play without tutorials But just for reference

MOUSE - front end navigation
Once you have selected Male or Female character THEN

A OR Left Arrow = left
D OR Right Arrow = right
SPACE = Interact

UPDATE 2:
There appears to be an issue with "parking" when you get to work. Inconsistent but occasionally there is a spawn cycle of NPC's.

UPDATE 3:

Performance seems to be the main thread of feedback and unfortunately it is something I just don't understand. For some reason, the game will grind to a halt occasionally when interacting or queuing up an audio file. The odd thing is, if you close it and start again, it works fine. Typical tech support advice BUT it seems to work at the moment. Best I can do is apologise and say "don't give up! you haven't met the spaceman yet!" or "the twist in the story is later!"
:)

FINAL UPDATE:
Fixed a crash bug with the kitchen scene and that has had a knock on of fixing the frame rate and stability issues game wide. Quite happy with that actually.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#102Mood3.62
#148Humor3.10
#151Graphics3.77
#186Audio3.33
#212Overall3.55
#218Theme3.91
#699Innovation2.95
#711Fun2.81
#1594Coolness37%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:45am

Fantastic! It's like I'm xopsx Are you only able to kill your driving buddies or am I just a bad person?

Lovely accompanying music, space tea and a day in the life that is satisfying, brilliant first LD!!!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:36am

Yaay! You can pick them up normally yes but I wanted to surprise players when they experimented so didn't say what would happen :D

rejooh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:25am

I think this game really catches you. Personally I was so interested in what will happen next. Oh and I killed one of them. :)

mire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:36am

Very cute, reminiscent of Once Chance, that flash game you can only play through once (http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/555181)

Love the art style, the use of the theme, and the random bits of humor!

I killed Bobby :(

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:40am

First LD26 game I've been compelled to finish! Amazing art! Let down by bad performance and screen tearing but that's just GameMaker's way.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Thank you Mythalore! The performance is something that concerns me... If it was consistent i could do something about it but it is so random. Some times it runs like a dream, other times it chugs and crashes. Same PC, same settings etc. madness. Still, thanks for taking the time to play it :)

Beerman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Great stuff. Loved the space tea.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Hey all! I managed to fix a crash bug which has had a nice knock on effect of fixing the screen tear and chugging! :D
Uploading v1.2 now :)

tayl1r says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Nice!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:29am

I don't know what to think. Bobby died, seems like he's having a tough day :/

Alphonsus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:35am

This is really great! It's awesome to make a game that's really personal. Love the ambience. Nice work!

Lythom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Hi ! Here is some feedback.
What I loved :
- the concept (close to mine in fact :p)
- finished and clean
- color scheme consistency
What imo could be improved :
- consistency in the story (either it goes a bit everywhere and doesn't tell a full story, or I did not understand what was behind)
- a few bug with controls (freeze when changing direction, not sure I when I presses space it was efficient each time)
- for the space key thing, a tip would be to audio or display an immediate feedback

nice overall, thanks for the game !

Catmoo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Really enjoyed it, I feel almost like it was a day in the life of myself, minus the basketball potentially, and the driving, but still thoroughly enjoyed.

Had no issues with the game itself and I had fun throwing a few dozen basketballs :)

I also always imagined space tea would come down on a little parachute.

Skulls says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:18am

In game maker you can set it to be an exe file when you extract by using the dropdown menu in the save window below the name.

DesignerNap says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Hey Skulls! Thank you for the advice. I have quickly created one and uploaded it just now. Link is at the top! :D

Skulls says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:26am

No worries, always happy to help a fellow jammer :)

Eternal_Rest says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Crashes for me every now and then. Not bad other than that.

ERROR in
action number 1
of Key Release Event for <Space> Key
for object MALEGETCAR:

Creating instance for non-existing object: -100
at gml_Object_MALEGETCAR_KeyRelease_32 (line -1) - <unknown source line>

cwilloughby says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:22am

Very cool. I also chose to do a life sim, but it turned out very different! Couple of bugs - got a code error after getting in the car and got stuck completely when I got to work, couldn't progress any more. Love the art, audio, narrative, and theme. Excellent.

DesignerNap says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:14am

Hi everyone, sorry for the errors, just seen that when I export it Via an EXE I get some issues that are not present when it is installed. Removed link for the moment until I can fix it. Thanks to Eternal_Rest for the heads up!

May 4, 2013 @ 9:36am

Got this error message at driving start:

"
___________________________________________
############################################################################################
ERROR in
action number 1
of Key Release Event for <Space> Key
for object FEMGETCAR:

Creating instance for non-existing object: -100
at gml_Object_FEMGETCAR_KeyRelease_32 (line -1) - <unknown source line>
############################################################################################"

Then it went on, but hanged up at the games studio.


Though: A very pretty, interesting game!

Dmitrix says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:52pm

woah, that was pretty great. I killed Bobby and Craig though. XD

zkenshin says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:50am

Oh God, I killed every one of them D:
Nice art, really helped with the atmosphere (:

HelkeGames says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Neat idea, love the concept!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]