April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

theseus.f

by belickim - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple game about going into labyrinth and slaying Minotaur. Written in C with SDL and a little bit of love.

Compiling sources on Unix systems requires gcc (tested v4.6), SDL and SDL_image installed (most GNU/Linux distributions provides them in system repositories). Compiling on windows can be done with MinGW and obviously SDL + SDL_image.

More detailed build instructions can be found in README file attached to the sources (also present on github page).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#127Graphics3.84
#148Humor3.10
#216Overall3.54
#224Theme3.90
#271Fun3.32
#420Mood3.07
#691Innovation2.96
#1026Audio1.60

Comments

TheThirdOne says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Le wild potato appears you run in fear

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Simple but at the same time its nice :)

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:32pm

As already told you before, its simple but at the same time its nice :)

Logun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Graphics and gameplay are simple, but very cool, dunno exactly why :) I liked them.
Sadly, my chainsaw didn't work on the minotaur, but I can't say no to a Rat !

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:17pm

I liked this. A bit frustrating sometimes though.

LeafThief says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18pm

I liked the style of the graphics in between (in dialogues) and you chose a very interesting color palette.

I love that the game is challenging - easy to learn, hard to master, that's always a good sign :)

glbs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Your graphics are pretty, the game is fun. It was a good little experience thanks

Andy Go says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Basically I'm not into Maze games but this one somehow catches me. Nice graphics :)

rxi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:43pm

C and SDL, Represent.

I loved the visuals, the colors, fonts and shapes. Definitely felt very minimalist, stylized but incredibly tasteful.

The game as a whole, though short, I felt quite enjoyable. The game play was simple, challenging in places and felt innovative, everything seemed consistent and the levels were fairly fun. like the visuals, the gameplay stuck closely to the theme of minimalism.

Excellent work.

GFM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:01pm

No, rat. I won't give you my potato! Ò.Ó

Simple but fun game. =]

maloki says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:57pm

I love the clean look. The rat choices adds some replayability. Trapping the other enemies is fun~!

Psytew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:30pm

It's pretty fun, but a but much how after playing for so long, it'll just tell you that you've lost.

Spierek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Looks good, plays well, and the rats introduce a nice twist to the whole mix. Too bad you didn't manage to include any music with it.

TomboFry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Looks very nice to play, I especially like how it shows the route you'd taken (and how it blocks the rats from moving). Very very good

free_napalm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Best dialogue I have seen this LD, and I'm not even kidding. I just liked the look of the dialogue windows.

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:02pm

belickim, your game is awesome and you should feel awesome:

- I never would have thought that a maze game could still be interesting but the thread mechanics work really well and totally integrates with the whole theseus/minotaurus theme

- The roguelike fan in me loves your @'s
- The zelda/pokemon references
- Although super-minimalistic, all the assets are done absolutely perfectly.
- You write your game in C

netgrind says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:02pm

This felt super clean and smooth.

CogentInvalid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:29pm

The color choice makes the minimal graphics look really good and the movement is very smooth.

Clavus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:54pm

That was pretty fun. Too bad the rat didn't provide gas with the chainsaw.

Manuel777 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:46pm

I died, several times :)

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Probably the most polished and beautiful of its kind that I've seen. Straight up maze, no real extra features, but it's done right. The chainsaw ending made me laugh.

Hamumu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:49pm

I won! I'm not sure why mice can't run over string, but this whole thing felt strangely polished, with the nice tile-based-yet-smooth movement and all. I sorta feel like the in-game graphics (or lack) really lets it down because right before you get into the maze I was like "wow, this game looks awesome", then you get the cheapo-looking maze. But still feels good, at least.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:55pm

A nice lil challenge. I enjoyed the nods to other games. I don't know if it's the same with all items, but the result of meeting the minotaur with the chainsaw was fun.

atraxgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Minimal roguelike with Zelda and Greek myth references: I like it all! Great work

fr_automatik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:07pm

I had some difficulty running the game on linux.
So, the source was .tar.zip instead of .tar.gz or .zip . Not that much of a problem, but sticking to a zip would've been better, because less step to uncompress the source.
The makefile missed the option -lm when linking.
Then, when running the game, the gfx folder was missing.(Not included in source.)
Then, I could play the game.
Anyway, that color palette is good. I got to the cow with the chainsaw.
Gonna retry with the potato. GG

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Nice little minimal maze game. I liked the art. Thought the difficulty was a bit hit or miss - once there's enemies, later levels without enemies feel a bit empty. But I liked it.

belickim says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Thank you very much for kind words and playing theseus.f.
It's my first LD entry; right now after reading all your comments and playing your games, participating in LD feels like one of the best decisions ever.

fr_automatik, thanks for pointing out the issues, I fixed them and added a README file so hopefully there would be less problems with compiling theseus in the future. Actually I'm really ashamed that I published sources in such a state, the game was completely developed on GNU/Linux and only compiled on Windows just before sending.

KevinZuhn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:06am

It looks super stylish and plays well.
I thought it was cool that you could block the rats with your string, and I was a bit disappointed that there weren't many puzzles built around it. In most areas it felt like I could just run through the rats without needing to block their movements.
The endings are funny, and I played a second time to make sure not to give away my potato.

fishbrain says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Very nice, great retro style - I won!

Covenant says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:15am

Nice graphics, simple concept... Good job! :)

kddekadenz says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:23am

Ehrm, how do I use the sword?? Nice colors and effects you've used.

f7f5 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:21am

The controls were frustrating at first, it was very easy to ran into a "killer" wall by not releasing an arrow key at the right instant. But it kept me playing and going through the mazes 3 times until I could kill the Minutaur, and that's a good game for me! Loved the @ for the player.

Pinkerator says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Simple and nice. Minimalistic :)

Harsay says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:33am

Scumbag rat gave me chainsaw without gas. Really nice and challenging game.

Make A Game says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 1:00pm

I loved the thread mechanic, simple but super effective in giving the labirynth a cool twist.
The graphics are pleasing to the eye, it has humor. It's a pity there is no sound (at least for me).

<spoiler>Those mice xD tricked me into choosing the chainsaw</spoiler>

rzfmzn says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 10:40pm

I liked it, sad that the chainsaw did not work as expected =O(
nice job =O)

Benjamin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:42pm

I really like the design and colours of the game. I died in front of the minotaur because I had no gas for the chainsaw. Well Infact I would like to start over to test the different combinations but the game itself is not that fun to play. The hero queue mechanic to block rats is interesting but there's only few occasion to use it, most of the gameplay reside in avoiding those annoying red block making me feel like I'm controling those dumb dungeon master parties that always smashed their head throught dungeon walls.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]