April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Potato Lotion Dilemma!

by shotiris - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Potato!

Hi all! Thanks for having a look. I couldn't quite get it to where I wanted inside the 48h as I thought "oh i'll have a little nap!" and then woke up at deadline 7h later :D

Also, source is a Shiva archive. It should import into any version of Shiva editor, even the free one.

Web link goes straight to the game now.

Modelling: 7h
Textures/Graphics: 1h
Animation: 4h
Shiva/Code: 18h
Audio/SFX/Music: 6h

Thanks for looking everyone!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#96Humor3.42
#221Audio3.26
#249Graphics3.55
#431Mood3.06
#728Innovation2.91
#1146Overall2.54
#1214Fun2.10
#1304Theme2.36

Comments

shotiris says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:20am

Dead skin mask!

ben657 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:47am

One of the strangest things I have ever seen... kinda cool though... O.o

ToastyAbraham says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:00am

Slightly scary concept but good use of Audio.

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:04am

I now have a very greasy potato deep under water, feel like i've participated in something dirty and don't know what to do. All in all, just what i love in a game :D

Am I doing it wrong?

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:05am

Lol

This is either full marks or 0 marks for humor ...

shotiris says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:10am

Thank you! @semi there is a major bug. I passed out drunk before I could rectify and add the remaining audio :)

shotiris says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:10am

Thank you so much everyone for trying the game! More feedback here than I've had on my current major project! :P

juaxix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:29am

Hey, here another Shiva user!
Why so sad?

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:32am

Interesting, nice idea and the art style reminded me of psychonauts but it took a very long time to load.

shotiris says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:34am

@mythalore sorry, my web server is slow apparently! Game is only about 17mb. Thanks for looking!

Zer0XoL says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:01am

I managed to keep him alive when the water was way high, by rubbing him when he was supposed to drown.

lilmissmossy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:06am

Cool graphics and love the audio. Very very eerie and creepy. I just don't know how to save the poor little fellow! I feel i've failed him... but my guess is that's the point :) Nice work.

shotiris says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:15am

@zero thanks for playing! that's my bug. hey 48h :)

shotiris says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:16am

@lilmissmossy the potato must die :)

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:01pm

thats one sad potato... :(
but cool idea!

Yezu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:07pm

This 3d player thing is crap. I installed the add on and it still does not work :(

shotiris says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:17pm

@yezu sorry it isn't working for you. Try the windows exe perhaps?

@tiffi thanks!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Shit i thought the WTF award was for me. I rubbed the potato a lot, water went crazy when 2 third of the screen was full. Then potato guy reappeared. Then i stop cause i was thinking about suicide.

mechagk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Very weird, not sure if I'm doing it right...

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Creepy o_o

shotiris says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:45pm

@anna @mechagk @skywilly perfect! thank you :)

Toki Anholmes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:20pm

wow, love the madness of the thing

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Holy moly.

shotiris says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:46pm

@toki & @superlevelseb awesome comments :) thanks!

juaxix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:27am

Hey, I have test your code with Shiva, do you have a shiva forum entry to talk about this? :)

please check my game with windows again

shotiris says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Hi @juaxix, thanks! I checked out your game, pretty cool. No I haven't started a thread about it.

Alex Rose says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Oh god, what have I done?

I really wanted to see what the monster was!

But yeah, hilarious stuff, definitely a 5* for humour, and the potato looks amazing. Great modelling and animation.

May 1, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Alrighty, then...

Zener says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Interesting concept, it made me reaply and try different things. I will have nightmares with the music :)

shotiris says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:45pm

:) Thanks all.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:28pm

you have to be kidding me!!!-pregame

postgame- wow, I died and came back to life and the water just kept filling up, Odd clicking website.

MinionStudios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:23am

Freaky and hilarious game! Is it possible to win without death? can we see the Wild Bill?

Elemnir says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:23am

I biffed it. If you keep the butter and click the potato after he drowns, he springs magically back to life.

FREEZX says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:33am

Holy fuck.

john_conder9 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:37am

I.. I don't really .. I mean I made the potato cry until it flooded the place but like nothing happened and so I just ... I just I don't know man. I don't know man. I don't like, I don't know man.

shotiris says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:38am

:) Hello.

@avidgamerNino Thanks, it's bugged.
@minionStudios Thank you! Not yet, that's as far as I got. @Elemnir yeah bugged :) (I passed out 7h before deadline)
@freezx Perfect, thanks :)

shotiris says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:39am

@john_conder9 lol, awesome.

gregdevice says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:00am

A lot of butter torture

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Wow. I felt awful playing this. Well done.

shotiris says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:15am

Thanks @sudorossy :D Thanks all for having a look.

michail says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:35pm

I don't know what to say.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Hahahah

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]