April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pleistocene

by Tomassino - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pleistocene is a survival game set during The Pleistocene, approximately 2 million years ago. Your name is Amrok, atleast that's what you can make out from the gruntings everyone makes...

The environment is your main enemy, requiring you to manage your energy, maintaining enough to spend searching for food and avoiding the megafauna that roams the lands.

Fight or flight are your "weapons", weighing up whether it's worth expending valuable energy to battle an enemy that might just run away or running from an enemy that might catch you are the main focus of the game.

Complete with sleeping cave and warming nighttime fire, Pleistocene takes a subtle, 2013, sat in a warm house with the kettle on view of what it was like to live two million years ago.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1934Coolness14%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Will you give out a compiled version?

kreddor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Wanted to play this, but don't have pygame installed. You should include it with the game at least...

Stiju says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:47pm

A compiled version would be great

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Crashes when I die:
Enemy wins by -79.29
False
0
Dead
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "main.py", line 15, in <module>
game.update()
File "/tmp/tomassino_ld48/gameObj.py", line 249, in update
self.updateHUD()
File "/tmp/tomassino_ld48/gameObj.py", line 193, in updateHUD
self.hudName = self.fontObj.render(str(self.player.name),True,glbs.colBlack)
pygame.error: Text has zero width

Also please let players use the arrow keys next time! Not everyone is using qwerty and having to change keymaps to try each game kinda sucks.

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:21pm

The game is really slow! Also it looks like there is no goal or reason to move at all?

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:32pm

i cant play it either :(

Tomassino says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Hi guys, thanks for the comments. I will admit I'm a bit green when it comes to distribution. I am working on a compiled version as I type this, for Windows and OS X.

@stqn Thanks for the heads up on the bug, I will get on it. Also thanks for pointing out about the arrow keys/WASD, too much coffee and not enough sleep meant I didn't think about non-QWERTY keyboards.

Everything is intentionally slow by design, the goal is just to survive and there is a hunger mechanic in there - the longer you leave it between eating (i.e. if you sit at the cave and sleep all the time) you will become weak and end up using more energy to move. This is an area that took quite a bit of tweaking to get right, maybe a bit too ambitious?

plash says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Notes:

- Eat berries. Hide in cave. Choose battles wisely. Makes sense.
- Continue the human race?! Hero seat, taken.
- Berries. Running out of energy! Need more berries!
- FITE! FITE! FITE!
- Oops. I got mauled. Too gung ho for my own good.
- Night never came! Do you have to kill everything first, or is the timer just very long?

Things I would change:

- The zoom is too far out. Consider changing the scale so movement isn't so grueling.
- Add tribal music. ADD TRIBAL MUSIC.

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:45am

Looks nice, but why won't you let me play it? :'(

Jim Haslett says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:48am

I can't compile it :(

Cybearg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:31am

Looks brilliant, but I need a binary to play.

Tomassino says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone. LD has been a great learning curve for me, especially with distributing Python. I have implemented the bug fixes needed, and produced a Windows version. Hopefully some of you who wanted to play it now can! Cheers again!

BenW says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:28pm

I couldn't tell how long it takes before it's nighttime or how hungry I was. Since killing animals doesn't feed you I really didn't engage with them. They were really easy to dodge so I felt like I could just ignore them. I could only eat sometimes but there wasn't an indicator of when I was hungry. I feel like this game would be much more enjoyable with a bit more of a UI.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]