April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hatchet

by mackthehobbit - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a game. A game involving gold, potatoes, cuttable trees and potatoes.
Controls: Arrow keys, ZXCVB to use items and S then right arrow for crafting.
Trade by using items you want to sell, or an empty slot to buy. Traders buy/sell certain items for gold.
Make a maximaliser and fix the graphics to win!

Requires Java, the jar should run on any platform.
(Also, Potato Challenge complete :D)

Note: Some people seem to be having problems with the web version (IllegalStateException). If you get any issues, it'd be great if you could post your OS, browser and JRE version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#419Humor2.44
#431Mood3.06
#569Graphics3.00
#759Fun2.76
#790Overall2.95
#839Audio2.21
#871Innovation2.71
#928Theme3.14
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:09am

The web link appears to be broken. (403 error)

mackthehobbit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:13am

The web link should be working again.

cjacobwade says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:17am

I got an Illegal State Exception when trying to play the web version. It says that buffers haven't been created.

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:18am

Web link is broken :(

mackthehobbit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:27am

That's very strange, the web version seems to work fine for me. What browser and java version are you using?
Maybe try downloading the jar.

Jesse111 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:36am

Web version isn't working for me either - For some reason it downloads the html to my computer, and then when I open that, it tries to load the jar and fails with "Buffers have not been created"

Jesse111 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:40am

Downloadable version works great, though! I like it a lot! The graphics remind me of Ultima, and it even has a potato!

Waynetron says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:15am

Web link is broken for me as well. Just tries to download an html page.

Zathalos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:39am

Played the windows version. The game is very grindy. It was taking me forever to get gold so I didn't finish. The graphics were interesting and collecting potatoes was funny. Good job.

Spierek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:43am

Web version is also broken for me. You're probably storing the game and the *.html file in a private folder on Dropbox. Try moving them to a subfolder in the "Public" folder, and then right-click it to "get public link".

The *.jar version works fine, though. The game is alright, but it does get repetitive soon enough (I was just plowing through the game, mashing Z and X).

mackthehobbit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:40am

There, the web version *should* actually work properly now.

m64 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:26am

How do I use the shops?

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:41am

Bit too grindy.. Do like the take that to the theme though :P

mackthehobbit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:53am

To use the shops, you use the item you want to sell when facing the trader. They only buy certain items(Butcher-meat etc.) If you use an empty slot, you can buy items or trade resources.
Thanks for the complements guys, and I did realise the game did get a bit too grindy in the end. I would have preferred to have gotten a few more features in that varied the gameplay more, but sadly I didn't get to.

Rabbits... says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:32am

I really enjoyed the opening sequence.

mackthehobbit says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:14am

Thanks, I did try to get at least a tiny bit of humour into the game :)

hypp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Sorry, couldn't get it to run

woftles says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:39am

Couldn't play the weblink "IllegalStateException Buffers have not been created"

mackthehobbit says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:55am

That's very strange, it works for me again. Maybe some OSes or browsers don't like it?

MinionStudios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:14pm

This game is a big one for such a small window. There are a ton of ways to play! Nice job! So fun

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:43am

Can't play because I have no Java installed. Sorry :(

wolf says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:08am

Web version doesn't work for me - "buffers haven't been created" error.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]