April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

My Little Robo

by m64 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In "My Little Robo" I tried to explore how by using minimal approach to movement control - directly controlling every servo motor of a simple robot - we can turn even the simplest house chores (in that case cleaning the room) into a game. The game is implemented using cocos2d-x html5 and chipmunk for physics. Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#107Innovation3.80
#225Humor2.83
#458Fun3.09
#576Overall3.15
#802Mood2.63
#816Theme3.27
#890Graphics2.61
#1031Audio1.53

Comments

intripoon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:49am

Wow, this is a nice concept.

MagiMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:07am

I keep breaking the robot.

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:16am

Awesome conpect. It feels to be at a bit too slow of a pace and the psysics are kinda buggy, but overall a very fun game

m64 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:40am

Thanks! Unfortunately this was my first time using chipmunk (first LD too), so I did not get the physics to be as stable as I wanted - got a few bugfixing ideas late in the development, but it was too late to incorporate them into the entry.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:49am

Ahah, i break my robot & i don't know why. Great use of the theme, i love that :)

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Great concept. Controls take a while to get used to but well done.

bummzack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Noooo its robot QWOP!

Hegemege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:24pm

That was so much fun! I ended up glitching on top of the table and it swang my robot all the way to the left http://prntscr.com/12o02w

Very cool concept, fits the theme perfectly!

quill18 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:41pm

The physics in this feel very good -- I love the "wobble" when I'm swinging the "big" end in the air.

Excellent concept, and definitely the sort of thing I would enjoy in a larger game.

I don't normally think of tablet gaming, but this might be a REALLY good game for a touch screen, where you could manipulate joints/segments with pairs of fingers.

alwaysinbeta says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Wow I really sucked at that, but had a lot if fun in the process ;)

drstik says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Like mechanical QWOP, which makes it awesome (even if my tiny brain can't accomplish much with the controls).

Stiju says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Great concept, really fun to play.
Tried to go under the red bar but then my robot broke down and glitched out of the game window.

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Oh no, it's QWOP all over again! I wish the physics weren't so buggy that the robot breaks all the time, because I don't even manage it onto the red platform to do the book carrying mission. So far, I thought it was the most creative idea that i've tried though and I really had a lot of fun playing.

metadept says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Really, really like this concept. I have a hard time wrapping my mind around the servo configuration (partly since I keep flopping the robot around in weird ways) so maybe you could put a tiny label with arrows and keys on each joint? I also managed to rip my robot apart by getting stuck under the shelf, but that kinda added to the fun and humor of the whole thing. Great job!

(also, I saw you had a problem running my game; if you could send me an email with some more details I'd really appreciate it)

Tozy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:07pm

somewhere in the middle of those ladders my robot managed to get inside the concrete and then to the unknown :P

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:58am

I had a lot of fun trying to play it propperly X'D. Cool idea man!

tcstyle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:54pm

I really like the basic idea, but the controls are pretty tough to get inot.

May 3, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Crazy idea, remember to me QWOP, so fucking hard to use the robot, i likeit!

DaveDobson says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Neat concept, and surprisingly robust physics for the controls. I did get the arm separated from the base and from the claw at a couple of points, but it reconnected once I toyed around some ore. The goals assigned were harder than I had patience to do, but it was a terrific idea, well-implemented.

GameRespect says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Decent game. Reminds of QWOP.

KEFIR says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Idea is really cool! But it's a bit too hard at first.. Maybe you should immerse player step by step

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Clever. Mind bending. With a bit of tweaking this could be an excellent physics puzzler.

aaron9000 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Also reminds me of qwop (in a good way). The physics are a nice touch.

johnste says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Great game, I love physics puzzles and this one is great. A bit hard to see all the instructions sometimes though, I missed a few ones when I started out and made some bad choices because of that.

goerp says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Haha, this is like a slow motion QWOP.
I loved QWOP, but got nowhere, here I get somehere although a LOT MORE SLOWLY.
I just would have like audio. Maybe for a future version?

LOved it.

mrexcessive says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Great physics toy... Magnet/base sticky makes all the difference.

JohnnySix says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Possibly one of the hardest games I've played so far. :)

The concept is cool - but I had a really hard time propelling the robot, I ended up just spinning the foot and waiting for it to drag itself along the floor.

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Great mechanics and very challenging! The control layout is not intuitive, but that increases the difficulty.

stevejohnson says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:55pm

The biggest trouble I had was physically moving between challenges, so it got stale for me pretty quickly. I think it would be more enjoyable if they were closer together, or if movement between them was automatic. Great job otherwise, though.

Cosine says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:51am

Great concept, great implementation. Loved it.

deathray says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Great points for innovation, but I wasn't able to pick up anything so couldn't do much of the game. I had a lot of fun trying to move around though. This would make a great educational game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]