April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bong Out Wars

by Eternal_Rest - Jam Entry

Here is my game "Bong Out Wars" Kinda a cross between break out and pong. Playable as a single player game and also 2 player mode available.

All assets and sounds and music created by me in the 48hrs.
Used GM:Studio, Audacity, Cakewalk, Asprite and AS3SFXR.

There is a powerup to increase your speed and a bomb that destroys multiple bricks at once.

P1 uses Left and Right arrows. P2 uses A and S.
Press 2 on the main menu to access 2 player mode.
Debug room can be accessed in 2P mode by pressing N.

Minimalism: Minimal Controls and Graphics. Simple game play.

Unfortunately Studio currently has a bug that wont allow me to create a stand alone .exe so sorry for the installer.

I would have entered it into the 48 hour, but I refuse to include the source as small and lame as it is. Id make another entry if they allowed more than one or one in each. Theres still a day and a half to go!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#161Fun(Jam)3.20
#297Innovation(Jam)2.89
#300Humor(Jam)2.00
#301Overall(Jam)3.04
#319Audio(Jam)2.73
#384Mood(Jam)2.59
#408Theme(Jam)2.85
#443Graphics(Jam)2.57

Comments

beshr says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Unfortunately I can't try because I'm on a Mac, but very interesting concept!

AlvaroH says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Good Game!

Eternal_Rest says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Thanks guys.
Ill put up a Mac build after work tonight.

glisk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:03am

good game, well crafted and cool crossover :D

mchaza says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:19am

I like block breaker games, and I was a bit bored until suddenly 20 balls shot down at me, now we are talking. Quite good nice job.

michail says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Nice and well balanced game. Only the window height could be minimally smaller.

Kvisle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:47am

Works in Wine in Linux. It'd be cool to be able to control the pad with the mouse. At one point I both beat the level and got game over at the same time; But I was sent to the next level so it worked out well.

Neat.

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:48am

This is fun :) especially once the balls really started coming at me haha

myachin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:44am

pvp arcanoid?! yeah! good game

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:22pm

sorry -- i dont try games with installers

infernet89 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Nice game, but please provide a stand-alone executable.. I HATE installing this just for trying..

Eternal_Rest says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:47pm

I have no choice, generating a stand alone crashes. Sorry guys.

Jiddo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Cool game. I can also confirm that it runs well using Wine on Linux.

The game starts off a bit slow. It sort of gets a bit boring at times, but then it suddenly turns around and there are like 100 balls on the screen and you have no idea where they came from. That is quite awesome. :)

I would also have liked the ability to use the mouse to control the paddle. It'd also be cool if you could have more control over which direction balls bounce in depending on where they hit the paddle. Right now you sort of have to bump into them using the side of the paddle if you want them to change their otherwise predetermined path.

Great work! :)

hamster_mk_4 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:53am

Games with installers are generally turnoffs when trying to judge a game.

May 3, 2013 @ 4:59am

Like the balls-bouncing-off-other-balls element. Controls felt a little stiff, though - consider applying the input as a second-order signal to get a smoother effect?

dalbinblue says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:04am

Fun with a good difficulty ramp. Probably would have done better if I wasn't so tired.

TenTonToon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:28am

I, like so many others around here, don't like having to install anything in order to play a game. A sign of the times of sorts, I guess. Sorry about that.

Is the problem with GM:Studio specific to your computer? Because I use GM:Studio and can make standalone exes without a problem. Or is it because of the version?

Too bad, because I was really curious about this one :(

Eternal_Rest says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:02am

Not specific to me, but doesn't happen for everyone. Its been reported, but as yet its not fixed :(
I can probably just install it on another PC and export as a stand alone and im guessing it will work. I might do that and upload another.

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:32am

Looks cool from the screenshots, unfortunately I'm on a Mac. Sorry :(

baldwinthree says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:22am

Great game! I loved that the balls collided with one another, it led to some really chaotic situations.

May 3, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Funny game!

Oye Beto says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:16pm

I got to round 6

- Player 2 should move with 'A' & 'D'
- It starts slow but gets more entertaining with multiple balls at the same time.

Tyro says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:02am

Nice blending of genres. The graphics were simple and clean, and I liked the music. Wish I had someone else to try it with, but I had fun playing it alone anyway. Good work! :)

dertom says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Hmm,...I could install the game via wine on linux but it unfortuantly crashes after some seconds in the game. Bad luck...game looks interesting

Cake&Code says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:51am

Oh wow, I'm actually surprised that genre/gameplay fusions happened at all because of the minimalism theme, which would normally mean stripping parts away and not putting two different parts together xD

Overall it's a pretty zany game but quite fun! Well done! :D

May 9, 2013 @ 5:35am

this is fun! make this for android, please! :)

Eternal_Rest says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 10:51am

Thanks everyone.
Sorry to those who couldnt get it to work.
Yes i intended a Mac version, but apparently I have to be a mac developer to even compile it...
I am working on a full version of it at the moment, for PC, Linux and Droid.

kibertoad says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Quite enjoyed this entry. Simple concept and simple controls. Pretty fun to play too! However I did experience some issues with the balls. One got stuck on the paddle against a wall, and a few others seemed to get stuck on nothing then teleport to a random location. Other than that though, great entry!

Beldarak says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:40am

Nice game ! I'll retry it later with a friend but the solo is already good :)

Topaz says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:59am

Really cool game! Almost finished round 5 on my first go.

Parabol says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 10:37am

I was initially a bit bored as the ball was slow, but once the pace picked up it was great. An awesome take on a couple of classic games.

Pisti says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Lacks a bit of action - something more dynamic. Also a standalone version would be cool, but a good idea well executed.

Eternal_Rest says ...
May 22, 2013 @ 6:24am

Thanks for the ratings everyone.

I tried to rate everyone who commented, I think I got through you all by the end.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]