April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

^2

by MaxguN - 48 Hour Compo Entry

^2 is a platformer written in javascript.
One level can be played.
^2 is a square. He doesn't like circles. So he's gonna kick their ass. But where to go ?

Move with left and right
Jump with x
Kick with c


Note :
- Jump is an attack, use it !
- If you get stuck in a wall block, just jump or roll outside
- There are collision bugs but the game (level) can be finished (see the walkthrough)
- No sfx/music added due to lack of time




Tools :
- Sublime Text 2
- GraphicsGale
- Tiled
- Construct 2 (for prototyping)

The playable version is revision 924832a481965ed69396c08da4929695ea26db1e (rev.60) on git.

Updated to fix the typo on *cough* "lose".



========================================================
= Post Compo Update =
========================================================

The most annoying bugs are now solved in this new version (though, there is a new one). I've reworked the collisions and now you shouldn't get stuck in the level anymore.
I've also fixed the animation and the hitbox of the attack on the left.
I have removed the first circle in this version and if you fall in a trap, you can reset square to the start with key R.

Next things to come :
- Fix fall + jump bugs (2)
- Sfx + music
- More levels

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#603Theme3.49
#717Graphics2.83
#858Humor1.84
#871Innovation2.71
#978Fun2.51
#1006Overall2.73
#1031Audio1.53
#1065Mood2.32

Comments

dtConfect says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Mmmmm I can't see to move the circle at all with the space bar. Is that right?

MaxguN says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Yeah, not implemented on the current online version. It's just a quick build i made a few hours ago with construct 2 to see how it was looking.

foxter888 says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 8:13pm

nice

berjah says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 11:40pm

I can make the little square jump with the up arrow. He can jump over the first pit, but I can't get him out of the second pit. And I can't figure out how to kill the circle though I really really want to kill that circle =)

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 3:57am

Haha, this is looking awesome so far. :)

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Gah! I keep hitting the first circle as soon as I fall! Took me some time to work out how to jump (x), might be worth mapping to space too! Also, spelt "lose" wrong ;)

reustonium says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Kind of difficult, there may be a bug which allowed me to jump through a wall. Nice concept though, and it fits very nicely with the theme.

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Really good work for 48 hours! Loved the idea, linked very well to the theme indeed.. some sound would have been great and found platforming a little frustrating/difficult at times. But overall, a really nice effort!

robertcalvert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:22pm

This is looking really good.

DreamThorn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:24pm

I had a bit of a "falling out of the level" problem.

Raimonds says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Like the jumping and kicking animations. A bit too quick of a death on collision with circle.

IndieRetro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Love this one, was playing along as you developed it, well done :)

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:50pm

I like the aesthetic, and the cube rotating concept is cool. The level is a little unforgiving however as landing in the wrong location can cause you to have to refresh the browser to restart the game.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:21am

Ha, great idea! Love rolling around.

Then I fell through the ground and got stuck in a wall :(

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:33am

Really creative mechanics, but some of the level design felt unfair. Particularly the first hole with the circle near the bottom. I kept blindly jumping directly onto the circle :P

MaxguN says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:24am

Thanks for all the feedback.

Some advices:
- you can attack with the jump (usefull for the first fall and some others afterward)
- when stuck in a wall just jump to get out or roll to the outside if possible (if stuck inside, it'll be hard to get out so you have to refresh)

And sorry for the level design, i'm kinda "not good" at it and i tend to make it hard.

PixelOaks says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:44am

It's pretty cool. For some reason I was losing frame rate on it and kept falling through the floor though which could be an interesting mechanic if it were on purpose.

oldtopman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:51am

Very difficult - I kept falling onto the first circle and losing a life.

DaveDobson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:00pm

I enjoyed playing, but it got a little frustrating - if you miss the first jump, which I see other people made but which I never could, it's kind of random as to whether you'll live through landing on the circle below. I made it through there and wandered around for a bit, but then I fell into a hole I couldn't jump out of, which was frustrating. I don't really get how it's supposed to work, but it didn't seem to be working right for me.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:43am

Like moving and attack mechanics, but game pretty buggy overall=(

Pinkerator says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:21am

Geometrical adventures? Looks good to me :) But sometimes main hero falls inside the floor

May 3, 2013 @ 10:26pm

A bit dificult, and I had some issue with falling through the floor. Very minamalist though, and I liked the idea of sqauares vs circles

KEFIR says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:16am

Good job! Very solid entry and good level design. Strange collision detection sometimes spoils the impression though

Madball says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:33pm

This game is very unfougiving, but I got used to it. Sometimes you have to make leaps of faith, not suspecting there's a circle below. Also, you sometimes can walk through walls. I got stuck like that once.

klianc09 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Very buggy overall, and needs a restart button or a better level design. But it fits the theme very nicely.

Jyrkface says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:43am

Perfect fit for the theme! I really like the way you animated the square for added visual interest

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:46am

Nice graphic design, and good concept.

Brassawiking says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Nice art style and movement. It had a robust feel to it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]