April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MiniMOBA

by kingtharg - Jam Entry

The idea came from sitting in my dorm room surrounded by people playing an incredibly non-minimalistic game while I was trying to think of a concept: League of Legends. I thought it might be fun to try and strip out everything I could from the genre, and it was. Whether or not the result is fun is up to you, I suppose.

Sadly, school interfered, and I was unable to get a win condition, among other things, set up, but it's certainly fun to mess around in nonetheless. Feedback of any kind is appreciated, and if people seem to like the idea, I may flesh it out a bit more.

NOTE: This is a splitscreen 2v2 game. With everyone playing on the same keyboard, because that's about as minimalistic a setup as you can get for this kind of game.
Controls are as follows:
Player 1:
Moves with WASD
Ability triggered by E

Player 2:
Moves with IJKL
Ability triggered by U

Player 3:
Moves with Arrow Keys
Ability triggered by SHIFT

Player 4:
Moves with NUMPAD 8456
Ability triggered by NUMPAD 7

Made in Gamemaker 8.0, because I know it well.
Art credit goes to my roommate, who demanded credit for his work, but didn't want his name attached. I don't know, he's just that kind of guy.
Also there is one picture that was taken from the LD site that will be obvious, so, credit to them for that.
As for your rights, I'm happy to say that on the off chance someone does want to do something with this, I'm fine with that, so long as I am credited and contacted.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#73Innovation(Jam)3.63
#208Theme(Jam)3.44
#339Fun(Jam)2.73
#340Overall(Jam)2.94
#398Graphics(Jam)2.75
#1775Coolness26%

Comments

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:35am

This is a brilliant idea. I'm really disappointed that you didn't get to bring it all together. This would have made for a great arcade game around the early 90s. I may just be thinking that because I played a bunch of Rampart recently...

Anyway, I had trouble discerning the specifics of what was going on, but conceptually it's pretty awesome.

BTW, have you actually tested the multiplayer functionality? I tried to do a 2 player game once and the keys were constantly conflicting with eachother. I think it's called "ghosting", but basically most keyboards have multiple keys on the same circuit and can't detect 2 keys on the same circuit at once.

kingtharg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:03am

@nintendoeats First of all, thank you!
The ghosting thing did happen to a slight degree with my laptop, but it didn't seem too significant...perhaps I should test this on more computers before I commit to a bigger effort, to try and find a way around it. I'm sure I can get it to work properly one way or another.

Joeslayer97 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:20am

@kingtharg you should make it so the keys change booleans.. rather than calling methods... don't know how Game Maker works exactly... but if you do that it would work fine I believe :)

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Can't play, have a mac.

nathanj439 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Seems like a neat concept, but without people to play against and no win condition, I didn't get very far. Would be interesting to see a finished version.

klianc09 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:18pm

This sounds like a good idea, the ghosting problem could be overcome by simply using gamepads. And with a real win-condition it would be worthwhile. I'm not sure if you weren't able to implement a damage system yet, or if your system bases on pushing enemies around on purpose, but I think this is a great idea that could make for some interesting strategies combined with that capture the control point system.

Alphonsus says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:45am

Interesting concept. I've always wanted to see a minimalist MOBA. I hope you finish this. :D

imagnity says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 11:08pm

This is a good, really good start. Please polish it.

cadin says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 12:37am

Sounds interesting. Unfortunately I can't play, because I don't have a Windows machine.

I like the concept of stripping down an existing game.
My game is based on the idea of stripping as much as possible out of Legend of Zelda.

HelkeGames says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Nice game, well done!

mikeware says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Hard without other players to really gauge. Would have been nice to have a two-player option. Do the trees on fire ever disappear?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]