April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MiniCity

by ToastyAbraham - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A SimCity style game where you place Residential, Commercial and Industrial zones (and roads) to create your city, over time it grows in population and profitability.

The simulation takes into account proximity to other districts, how well your neighbours are doing and size of area among other things. Just encase it's too easy there are a few disasters, earthquake, tornado and meteor Strike, throw in for fun.

The shades of the zones indicate how well they're doing and you can adjust the passage of time with the buttons in the bottom left. The control scheme is just the mouse and left click and was developed using html5 canvas and has been tested in Chrome and Firefox (although it's notably faster in Chrome).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#198Theme3.94
#381Innovation3.35
#532Overall3.19
#640Humor2.11
#651Fun2.88
#802Mood2.63
#815Graphics2.70
#1005Audio1.75

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:04am

Love the reference :D

rockford says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:34am

Fun but hard :)

ndssia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:36am

I'd like the roads to be uniform thickness, good stuff though!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:50am

Very creative but a taad' too hard.

ede says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:51am

Great one! No server issues.

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:52am

Getting errors trying to run it in chrome:

Failed to load resource http://polyology.webfactional.com/ld26/bar.js
Failed to load resource http://polyology.webfactional.com/ld26/area.js
Failed to load resource http://polyology.webfactional.com/ld26/areaManager.js
Failed to load resource http://polyology.webfactional.com/ld26/areaSet.js
Failed to load resource http://polyology.webfactional.com/ld26/object.js
Uncaught ReferenceError: mouse is not defined main.js:11
Failed to load resource http://polyology.webfactional.com/ld26/mouse.js

ToastyAbraham says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Sorry to hear that Perry, what OS and version of Chrome are you running? I'd like see if I can replicate the problem so I can fix it.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:51pm

This is more fun than the new SimCity :)
Far less bugs, too.

ToastyAbraham says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Few hints and tips to try and make it a bit easier

- Residential areas should be fairly near commercial areas
- Industrial areas are most profitable
- Areas of size 100 are generally most efficient
- Upkeep on roads is a bit steep so don't build too many or too large

robc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Nice version of the concept.

Found it a little too fiddly to place roads & buildings though - would prefer a smaller grid (and uniform roads).

Impressive to see a simulation like this in the 48 hours though :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:49pm

I like it! I like it a lot! I was expecting some minimalistic interpretations of popular games but his just blew me away! It's as simple as it can get, but actually works. I really felt like controlling a city, despite it just being a bunch of blocks with numbers on them! Definitly one of my favorite entries so far. Geat job. You are awesome. A couple of tips thou: The game lacks a goal, something to look up to. Maybe a simple counter of how much % of the map is filled, with a "City complete" message once full would be enough, while still not compromising the minimalism?

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:58pm

awesome work but I think the graphics are too minimalistic for a complex game like this :)

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Quite easy, the essence of SimCity compressed into bare minimum, awesome!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:38pm

It's amazing how much we rely on visual feedback to determine progress. I painted a town & wasn't sure if anything was happening until I moused over the zones. Cool concept, definitely minimal.

deathray says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Very cool idea. It is a bit hard though. I think it needs some feedback to help you understand if you're doing a good thing or a bad thing. Perhaps after you place a new zone it'll look through all the existing zones and flash a color if the zone "likes"/"dislikes" the change.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:17am

I agree with the comments above that say there is not enough feedback. The idea of painting the world with brighter colours is good, but not quite enough.

Ofursnati says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:27pm

I like this game. probably spent 20 minutes playing without realizing. good job.

runonthespot says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Smart, with a tidy little interface. Very nice indeed!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]