April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

RGB

by Jaus_LXXIV - 48 Hour Compo Entry

...And I'm done with my first Ludum Dare! It's essentially a minimalist's infinite runner but with a unique (as far as I know) dodging mechanic and kinda-procedural "music". You'll see what I mean. Feedback is welcome; I'd like to know what I did well and what I can do better next time.

It's made in Java using LibGDX so the Windows link should work for everyone. Let me know if you have problems on Mac or Linux as I don't have either platform to test on at the moment.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#401Innovation3.32
#509Fun3.04
#632Theme3.46
#711Audio2.44
#861Overall2.89
#916Humor1.75
#1019Mood2.38
#1126Graphics2.26
#1284Coolness48%

Comments

Kortuga98 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:50am

Not entirely sure of controls, would like some direction.

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:51am

Decent.

Jaus_LXXIV says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:52am

I was hoping it would be self explanatory :< guess I failed since you're not the first person to say that. Hover over the buttons at the bottom to change the background color.

Infernal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:56am

odd thing, a green bar had hit it seems then I changed colors and the back of the green bar impacted the black square. otherwise pretty cool!

Frolacosta says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:28am

I loved it!
At first I couldn't tell where the difficulty was but then I failed and it became very clear! Well done, it's a great, simple little game :D

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53am

It doesn't open on the Mac for me. :( The window closes right away.

Ian MacLarty says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:19am

Innovative idea! I think it would have been even more fun with keyboard controls though.

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Wow, very unique idea. Never seen a game like this before. Its looks and sound pleasant.

I do struggle to learn the controls at the beginning though.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:32pm

It would be better to run it with touch rather than mouse but I like it.

Legogris says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:08pm

I like the unique concept and I think you could make something really cool with this.
However, I think gamepad or touch controls (or even keyboard) would work much better than mouse.

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Really fun, an interesting concept for a rhythm game

fussycashew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Really addicting... It's got all my favorite things, colors, shapes, and counters. Put in my play again folder. :)

Rabbits... says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:23am

That took me a second but now I feel smart for getting it, Thanks for the challenge

DBRalir says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:46am

This would be very nice with a touchscreen. Pretty cool idea.

May 5, 2013 @ 5:59am

There needed to be an introduction to the controls, or a short tutorial. It took a few goes to understand what was going on. The colored bars could use being a slightly different hue, or bordered in some way, so when the track is the same color, the bar is visible still. A couple times I died from switching colors too soon. That may have been intended, but it gives poor feedback to the player about what they are doing wrong.

Kvisle says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:11pm

First I was wondering what this was all about, but reading the instructions you posted in the comments helped alot. Now it's actually quite fun.

Worked fine in Ubuntu 13.04 with sun java 7.

Pisti says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Wow nice concept, I loved it - once you know how to play it :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]