Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 26

April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

the sunset - nhmllr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I tried to make a game that really felt "minimal," and not just in art style. I wanted the player to feel like they were little, had little, and wanted little.

And so, we have a game about a spider that wants to rise to the surface and leave its cave to watch the Sun set.

*note that there is a potato plant hidden in the game

View nhmllr's journal. | View all entries by nhmllr

Ratings

#46Mood3.86
#153Theme4.00
#191Graphics3.70
#205Fun3.43
#260Overall3.48
#274Innovation3.48
#439Audio2.89
#1864Coolness20%

Comments

deathray says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59am

I like the mood of this game from the simple, eeire music to the simple terrain. I also really enjoyed the movement because it was familiar enough to use, but tricky enough to keep me interested. Unfortunately however after a few minutes I went a few big circles and realized there are no clues to let me know whether I'm on the right track or not.

Zathalos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:18am

The jumping movement was pretty interesting even if sometimes it was a little buggy and I jumped in the wrong direction. Like deathray said, after a few minutes of going in circles I gave up. Cool concept and if there were clues where to go it would be even better. Good job.

geepit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:16pm

The mood was really cool, so was the movement. Jumping was a little buggy sometimes. But managed to complete the game. It was a nice sunset.

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:21pm

I found the sunset! Like the color shifting, loved the jump mechanic even when I would put myself halfway across the level by mistake. ;-)

dem0 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Really cute game

Ernyz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Liked the movement, and the mood :) completed the game, it was really nice :)

May 3, 2013 @ 5:27am

beau-ti-ful!

Tyro says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:30am

Aww, this was super kawaii (pardon my French.) I liked the simplistic graphics and movement mechanic. I'm not sure if you could ever interact with the sleeping animals, but it was cool to just find them snoozing in various places. The ending was sweet too! :)

niun says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Classic! Loved it. I'm going back in to explore some more.

Merkoth says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Loved it, good job!

lotusgame says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Great ! Finally an original platform game. I really like the movement control (and the cute jump sound). Too bad there is no objectives, obstacles or ennemies. This game would have been excellent ! But for a 48h entry, it's a very good work. Congrats :)

Pixelboy_85 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Mood and movement were great. At first I thought it were endless and random, but I kept playing till the end :)

Uhfgood says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:01am

Interesting but after a while of wandering around I just quit. Jumping mechanic is quite interesting.

May 7, 2013 @ 4:11am

I really enjoyed the movement and the fact it had a nice little goal. A spider wanting to see a sunset is cool. I'd work on this more and give it enemies, obstacles, and all that, so it feels like a journey, which makes the ending feel better. Nice job.

Detocroix says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:25pm

I was certain the bear would eat my gigantic spider. I was pleasantly surprised :D

Tifu says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Enjoyable little peaceful game. I didn't find the potato, but I found the sunrise :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]