April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minima

by Andy West - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This "dodge the enemy" game has a minimalistic game mechanic and a graphical style comprised of simple shapes.

Move your ship with W, A, S, and D keys or the arrow keys.

Press M if you want to turn off the music.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#340Audio3.06
#569Graphics3.00
#580Humor2.19
#700Fun2.82
#759Theme3.33
#778Overall2.96
#941Mood2.49
#1269Innovation1.96

Comments

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:22am

Not bad. Good pump up music for sure, liked the spaceship graphics.

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:49am

Smooth and intuitive. Not too much to do once you got the hang of it, but fun controls.

Jim Haslett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:46am

Interesting take on the theme. The graphics and music were great. I liked how the controls were a bit "sluggish" and the ship has a bit of momentum.

Great Job!

Stryphe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:10am

I enjoyed your graphics and ho smoothly it ran! Nice work!

Pat Hemphill says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:13am

I found the different scroll rates a little bit dizzying.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:20am

like the game -- great graphics -- it would have been cool if you added some power ups or bonus stuff in the game

Nanolotl says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:17am

The ship controls made the weaving around enemies quite fun. Good job.

Potentialing says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:04am

I enjoyed the game, it was fun, had great music (not a fan of the SFX, but they weren't too obtrusive), and the BG colors didn't clash with the FG colors, which was good, because that made it easy to spot the ships. I do wish the entry was a bit more creative though, because this entry is unfortunately a bit plain...

TaleLore says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:09am

More than 1 health is something I regret not adding to my own game. Good job!

LTyrosine says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Ok, smooth gameplay and nice graphics resulting in a fun game. Liked it, nice job.

nintendoeats says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:54am

70160.

Not much to it really. The movement feels good, and I qutie liked the music.

This is my requisite mention that, as a red/green colorblind person, telling the ships apart is really hard.

SneakySalmon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Awesome aesthetic (probably don't know how to spell that :b), very appropriate music and the difficulty progression is really good too. Nice job :D

madballneek says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Cool! I actually made a game very, very similar in design. Nice work.

KunoNoOni says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Ah I love avoider games :). My score was 90420, really enjoyed it. Nice use of theme.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:26am

The slight momentum to the ship movement was a good touch.

burtlo says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:38am

I enjoyed the music

Royal Railway says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:23am

Unable to play the game, unfortunately (no windows), but I enjoyed the timelapse!

TenTonToon says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:46am

Nice entry, fast and fun. The controls are spot on and the action keeps you on your toes. The music is pretty cool, too. Heck, being an LD entry with music is pretty cool!)

I felt the design was more simple than minimalist, though, and the action became routine as I "seated" myself on the edge on the screen and just moved up and down - in fact, you could have distilled the concept even more and have disposed of the left and right controls altogether.

As an example of what I mean, my entry is very similar in spirit to your game. In it, you also dodge killer geometrical figures (what's wrong with all those triangles and squares?? So much rage! XD). But I just use one button to control the action.

Best score: 150950

Keep it up! :)

Andy West says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Thanks for the great comments and feedback, everyone!

Good news, @Royal Railway: I've just released a Web version.

May 5, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Neat graphics and smooth gameplay. But monotonous. After a while, destroying ships was more fun than avoiding them.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:55am

I was half waiting for a second level, but quickly realized it would never come. I like the ship's momentum.

May 7, 2013 @ 5:09am

Like the loose controls. The background and foreground kinda competed for my eyeballs :\

onzephyr says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:13am

Nice music. Ran well in chrome. The momentum on the ship played out well and added to the challenge.

May 10, 2013 @ 4:15pm

The drifty controls (which I enjoyed) and the spaceship-like shapes would have lent itself to a space theme. Scrolling stars, or a planet surface instead of moving buildings. Very simple game, but was enjoyable.

zanzindorf says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Good job on the controls. It wouldn't have been as much fun without the drifting. The graphics were nice too.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]