April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Blob Runner

by TheThirdOne - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Blob runner is a casual game made using libGdx.
Click the jar file to run
Tap to jump

Use of minimalism
Art
Controls

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#438Fun3.11
#439Audio2.89
#452Humor2.39
#590Theme3.50
#721Overall3.00
#821Graphics2.69
#889Mood2.55
#1281Innovation1.92

Comments

Matthiee says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Funny game

Crynix says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Fun!

gizmo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:21am

really nice!

NalozycShade says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:26am

loved the sound track!

TheThirdOne says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:30am

thanks, I am very new to music making so that makes me feel good.

Test User says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:10am

Very on theme. Fun little game.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:15am

I like the two color square. I wish everything else had been like that. I think it would have looked a lot more interesting. music sounds good, fits the game really well. It would be cool if how long i pressed jump determined how high i jumped.

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:20am

Fun lil autorunner. Liked the audio and graphics. Very tranquil overall experience.

Crynix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:31am

Boom. AWESOME.

imagnity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:16am

I love this one. It's fun!!!

belickim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Well it's surely not the most innovative game out there, although I must admit I've spent quite some time playing, and enjoyed it, it's fun.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:15am

Very cute graphics, and surprisingly fun game play. Well done!

Tahooey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:17am

Fun Game :)

toonheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:33am

I like the jumps.

Done rating :)

Please do share some love and rate on my game too :)
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=rate&uid=21211

Muu? says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:06am

Good minimal runner/jumper game.

shiprib says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:49pm

492 after four runs! The drifting camera is a nice touch, though once I hit 400 I started going off the left of the screen until I wasn't able to jump.

Also when you're too far to the right the gap placement can seem a bit unfair.

But besides those issues it's got a good feel to it and definitely feels like every death is avoidable and your fault.

free_napalm says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Funny little game.

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Interesting gameplay choice to make jumping faster horizonally than walking, it promotes jumping more if you are behind (which is bad because you lose when you get behind), but jumping less when you are too much ahead (which is bad due to not seeing what is coming). Subtle design or just a side-effect? ;)

TheThirdOne says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:57am

It is an intentional design choice.

pvwradtke says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:19am

Fits nice within the theme, good use of basic shapes to create the entire experience. Had some trouble to get used with the fact that the character runs slightly slower than the scenery, and that I needed to keep jumping to keep up. Other than that, a solid entry.

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:31am

Nifty audio. Would be nice to have some control over the character, as well as encounter obstacles and all as the game progresses. Solid effort.

SuperDisk says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:19am

Cool little game. Got 193.

lorancou says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:52pm

A runner with a twist, pretty cool to play on a phone!
I got to 803 and fell miserably.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:09am

really nice and fits the theme well -- great effort

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]