April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Blockade

by Inf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Blockade is a 2 player hotseat strategy game.
IN SPACE!

Players move one ship at a time, and take it in turns. Each turn, they can either move a ship, or fire at an enemy - to-hit probabilities are shown hovering around your targets. IN SPACE!

I had a lot of fun making this one.
I hope you'll have a little bit playing it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#420Audio2.94
#673Theme3.42
#742Graphics2.79
#802Mood2.63
#824Innovation2.78
#882Fun2.63
#996Overall2.74
#1744Coolness28%

Comments

robc says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 1:59pm

'tis quite fun. Interesting little take - I can imagine the visual being a representation on some battle computer or such.

It did throw me off at first being two player, but besides that, it's a good little strategy game.

beshr says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:29pm

I'm trying to run this on my Mac but it doesn't seem to be working. I like the concept though!

kivifreak says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Saidly two players only :/ Plus i don't get what it has to do with minimalistic. Elsewise i adored this (kind of) board game :)

Inf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:33am

beshr - good call on the mac permissions problem - I'll re-upload the mac version soon!

JonRB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:42am

An interesting variant of chess/checkers. Unusual to see a multi-player game on here, but could have done with a basic AI.

Inf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:44am

Cheers JonRB - re implementing basic AI, for an authentic single-player experience pretty much on-par with what I could've done in the time remaining, recommend you close your eyes and click maniacally when it's the red players turn. :)

DdlyHeadshot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Can't get it to run... :(

Inf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:36pm

@DdlyHeadshot - hrm, what platform?
If it's the Linux port - honestly I haven't tested it - I guess one of the huge pitfalls of one-click publish-anywhere is stuff becomes much too easy to balls up.

Ernyz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Not too bad, pitty I had to play against myself :) some more diffirent spaceship units could have been nice, though.

PTSnoop says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Neat little strategy game. As far as I could tell, the dominant strategy was just to sit on the back row and snipe at the other player, waiting for them to come closer. But still, the visuals and the audio add up to an unexpectedly atmospheric game.

Inf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:32pm

PTSnoop - yeah, the idea behind the retaliation attacks is to mitigate that - whenever you miss, there's a chance your opponent gets a free strike back at you. So there's this tradeoff between setting yourself up for a good shot, and leaving yourself open to retaliation.

Maybe increase the chance of retaliation to a near certainty on missing? Hrm, Im gonna try it out.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Brave to make a strategy game. But it needs more nuance, right now it feels like whoever goes first is the one who'll win.
Would like to see the concept be worked on more.

Korda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:33am

Damn you! You devious red bastards

mire says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Really nice sound design, interesting gameplay concept. SPACE!!

Inf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:10pm

SPAAACE!

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:29am

Interesting.
I like the consept.

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:29am

Interesting.
I like the concept.

May 3, 2013 @ 11:57pm

I like this, it had a good space feel to it. The weapons and explosions fit really well with the game as a whole.

Inf says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:36am

thanks!

Make A Game says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:23pm

This is a cool concept that needs to be expanded (perhaps it would fit a boardgame?) More ships, powers and such would definitely make this a really interesting strategy turn based game. I would urge you to keep expanding on this idea =D

foxter888 says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:59pm

It was a bit confusing beint two player, but it's actually a cool idea to play with a friend. it would of been a bit more nice if there was some AI in it although i wonder how long would of taken to do so. there isn't much audio but it's some thing that fits the theme

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]