April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sky Tea

by OysterKLAN - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use the arrow keys to move and R to restart. Try to max out your tea quality by collecting coins.

Seeing as people seem to love the music, here it is on my soundcloud:
https://soundcloud.com/lekky12/sky-tea

Okay so the sound has a few issues loading in the browser, but besides that, I hope it works fine. Also I hope the Construct 2 .capx format is okay for the source.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#35Graphics4.22
#62Audio3.72
#179Mood3.42
#181Overall3.60
#271Humor2.70
#342Fun3.22
#1084Innovation2.30
#1143Theme2.82
#1689Coolness32%

Comments

Orni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:22am

simply a flawless game

graphics are great, audio is immersive, gameplay is amazing - excellent work !

the gravity feels a bit strong, but it's perfectly balanced to the jumps one has to make

biggame240 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:33am

Great game!

Good graphics, gameplay is challenging and fun.

Nice job

rujo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:57am

love this one, graphics are super cool!

GetFun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:11am

Cool platform. I like a lot the art.

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:11am

This is awesome! Reminds me of Fez a little bit. Nice to play a game with such a good mood. :)

AnnynN says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:13am

Great graphics and audio! In my opinion some checkpoints would be great, but besides from that it's a great little game!

palsina says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:17am

Polsihed and beautiful. It took some time to get used to the jump.

Yacodo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:19am

Nice one ! And platform are not pixel perfect, so my broken keyboard didn't had an effect on the gameplay (even if I would have perferred the jump on space or both)

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:22am

Beautiful aesthetic! Tough though, I'm rubbish at timing these jumps. ;__; Love the music.

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:24am

One of the best i played so far. Really nice ^^. Specially like the graphics.

dissonance says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:25am

Nice! Really loved some of the effects. Good job!

invi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:37am

Hits all the right notes! Controls are very nicely tuned.

Geoege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:11am

Wow, pretty good game ! =)
Music is really coooooooool.
Controls are a bit rough, and checkpoints could have been a good thing.
Well done !

gokuhd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Very beautiful game, I love platformers and this one looks very good. Consider making it bigger. Did you get inspired somehow by FEZ? I had that feeling.

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:53pm

This is great, really great. I found the jump brutally quick but that's such a minor crit. Great work.

7Soul says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:46pm

I want to say that I loved it, but the controls are too hard. He moves too fast and the jumps require too much precision. Most of the time I had to be focusing on jumping before reaching the edge of a platform, because with his speed, at the moment I would normally press the jump button he would be already going out of the platform, so that made every little jump a challenge (and not a good one).

OysterKLAN says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Hey everyone, thanks for your feedback. I would like to continue development of this game after the Ludum Dare, so I will take note of everything here. Firstly, I didn't realise it was so difficult until after I published it, as I didn't get anyone else to test it. That was a bad oversight. It's a shame, because the levels get more interesting as the game progresses, and I'm not sure if anyone but me has beaten it (^ ^). If you do finish it, post your tea quality in a comment! Secondly, yes I was inspired by Fez. That game is beautiful in so many ways.

KevinZuhn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:06am

I enjoyed interacting with the lumpy falling monsters, even though they were often the death of me! I haven't beaten the game just yet, but I'll keep trying.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:56am

Such a simple and demanding platformer :) The gravity was a bit strong, but it was balanced out by the perfectly spaced jumps. I was quite impressed by the level layout. One of my top games so far!

jolle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Good game. Pretty. Very harsh gravity, makes it pretty unforgiving.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:36am

Owh! Very atmospheric, visual polished game =)
But incredibly frustrating with controls in flash games. Can't beat third level =(

lightsoda says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Cute, looks nice and plays fairly well.

May 1, 2013 @ 10:16pm

This game made me so happy. The music, the goal, the graphics, it was all really fun to play. I like the presence of the theme in the level design; you essentially have two levels per one tea brew (go to flower and get back). The two sub-levels get increasingly different from each other when you have the level get destroyed and enemies disappear which is a great progression. The challenge is great as well. Fantastic.

May 2, 2013 @ 9:24am

Graphics and music great. Felt the jump speed was way too fast and it made platforming not fun. Jump times should be around .7 seconds. Also agree on checkpoints so you don't lose so much progress when you fall.

aquilicoco says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:14am

graphics are great!

klianc09 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Gets really hard later on.... but otherwise pretty cool.

MinionStudios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Fantastic game! such a simple, sweet composition.

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Such cruel jumps @_@

_Rilem says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:31pm

The graphics are beautiful, I really like the color scheme.
Jumping took some time to get used to, but I definitely enjoyed making some tea :D

zkenshin says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Really nice job. A bit to hard for my platforming abilities though ;P

wzl says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:49am

Cute game, Adorable character! Unfortunately the controls felt too floaty to me though so i couldn't really enjoy playing it.
But Music is lovely too :D

loxo says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Simple game with great graphics and audio. I like it.

oatsbarley says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:28pm

This is lovely, although the controls are a bit fiddly. Beautiful atmosphere. Well done!

Tifu says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Was having fun, but lack of checkpoints began to frustrate me in a large level I got to, as I was just doing the start area over and over. I also fell through the floor at one point, and that didn't help :P (maybe I accidentally pressed down though, possibly). Cute graphics, love the music.

geckojsc says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Tea quality 98! Awesome, the whole game is really well designed and thought out. I love the variety of challenges you were able to make with just a few simple concepts. Very difficult, but didn't make me want to give up. ;)

ferasmi says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:55am

great game but I think if you make the player a little slower and the jump a bit higher it would be perfect

KEFIR says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Really nice platformer! Feels good to be in this pleasant world. Graphics is really good. Jump feels a little too fast and uncontrollable

Jeremias says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:37pm

I like the look and feel, but the jumping is somehow a bit unresponsive. Sometimes I walk and definitely press the jump key, but I just fall down. The gravity is too strong anyway. And nice background music!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Loved graphics and misic design.
It was very frustrating to start the whole level from the start after I accidentially fell.

kill0u says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Nice ;)

bobiniki says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 2:55pm

I like the art style (except for the player) and the mood, but I think it should't be so hard to play as it is now.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:17am

i played on level and had to stop -- the control were nerve wracking -- i felt like i was gonna die on every jump -- nice game it was fun

Beldarak says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 2:35pm

I'm not a big fan of the controls (too sensitive and the grevity is really strong) but otherwise I liked it. Great work on the animations (clouds when you die, little details here and there, etc)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]