April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

2 Player Breakout

by LeafMeAlone - 48 Hour Compo Entry

w/d for player one. up/down for player two.

Things came up and didn't implement an end state but it's easy to tell who breaks all their blocks first.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#624Theme3.47
#638Graphics2.93
#843Fun2.67
#890Innovation2.67
#1006Overall2.73
#1979Coolness10%

Comments

Canyon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:47am

Yeah a win condition would make all the difference. What is the significance of the different balls having different colours? I like your colour scheme.

RexSpaceman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Good and simple implementation of breakout. Colors are nice as Canyon said, also agree about a victory condition would be a nice thing. Balls occasionally became very vertical or horizontal requiring 20+ collisions before they would walk themselves into a corner to get a new trajectory.

nilstastic says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Pros: Nice idea and it was pretty fun to play. =)
Cons: An end screen would have been good and some instructions wouldnt have hurt it one bit. =)

Thijsku says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Nice little game. Too bad there's no winning-system. You might want to make the movement a bit faster.

Fun game overall!

qgi says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Nice idea. I only played with the p and b keys which also was kind of interesting.

GameRespect says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Interesting game. Would have been better with some background music and a way to win though. I like the aesthetic and colour scheme though. Overall, good job! :)

rubna says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Great idea! I also really like the colors you used and the sound effects weren't bad either. The P and B keys seemed like they kinda broke the game though, because you can just change the direction if you miss the ball. Still, great idea and execution!

ecool377 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:05am

Great game guy!

May 11, 2013 @ 1:16pm

I love the retro look, but an AI would be a nice addition, post-compo maybe?

Awennor says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Like color scheme, sounds would be nice, the winning condition is not really necessary but would've liked some sort of variation somewhere on the breakout game itself.

Spacenoids says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Nos divertimos, mi hermano y yo, con este juego. Felicidades.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]