April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cube Labyrinth

by GreyBody - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First Ludum Dare Game

The Power ups are hidden throughout the maps.
They would be useful to find.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#299Theme3.81
#1132Overall2.56
#1148Fun2.25
#1197Graphics2.13
#1288Innovation1.88
#1828Coolness22%

Comments

SteFilms says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:33am

Nice game, fits the theme very well! My only comment: some sounds would have been nice :)

mtrc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Cute game, nice simple concept. Wasn't entirely clear what was losing me health at some points, but okay nonetheless!

MaxSzlagor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Thanks for sharing! Enjoyed poking around the mazes. It would be nice if the character could stick to the path a bit closer rather than having to line him up. Audio would be great too. Otherwise, it's a nice minimalist take on the maze game. Good work!

Purplescape says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:02pm

It fits the theme well. I did get stuck on the walls sometimes. Overall it's a nice game.

May 1, 2013 @ 3:33am

Collisions could use some work, the player pokes through the wall a few pixels consistently. The player could have been a bit small as it made taking turns somewhat difficult if you weren't lined up perfectly. Being able to use WASD to move would have been a nice option.

Jonatron says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:36am

Simple, but quite enjoyable.

Tyro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:07pm

The collision detection is a bit off. I enjoy maze games, but it'd be nice if this one had more unique obstacles to keep it fresh. I believe its possible to make a game both mimalistic and unique, so I hope if you continue to work on this you'll develop some creative ways to reinvent the genre. Keep up the good work! :)

TammiLion says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Try to make movement a bit smoother. For example by increasing movement speed a bit if you held a directional key down for a longer time. Moving around is kinda the only input the user gives, making that smoother makes the entire game more enjoyable!

SneakySalmon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Not bad, pretty fun adventure but some sound would be cool. Also you stop completely if you are pressed against a wall. Nice job though :D

entrusC says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Very minimalistic but fun. Interresting icon. Odd: I have 0 health but I'm not dead (yet?).

zanzindorf says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:32pm

The collision is a little finicky. It's hard to squeeze through gaps in the wall, and doors won't open unless you're perfectly aligned to them. Also, a way to move faster or to teleport back to start would be nice. Overall, good job. I love maze games.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]