April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Infinitesimal

by Daniel H - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Well here's my game. It's a maze, however finding a dead end isn't always bad. Enjoy :D

*edit* sorry everyone. I found a tiny glitch that sometimes generated unbeatable mazes. fixed it now. hope that's allowed :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#133Humor3.17
#169Mood3.44
#207Theme3.93
#374Audio3.00
#607Graphics2.96
#778Overall2.96
#1032Fun2.43
#1093Innovation2.29
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Minimalist, but pleasant to see. I was expecting more "object" talking about their sad programmed life but cool anyway.

NateNaterson says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:39am

Neat little maze game. I was particularly fond of the lighting. It's a neat effect!

Phase says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:45am

Solid concept and visual style that works well with the music to make a sort of eerie mood. The pacing was a bit slow and tedious, but the characters offered a nice break to that.

delfino says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:49am

Good stuff, I like the lighting too, audio went well with it, true to the theme. Quite polished for what it is. Great job!

Arcana says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:51am

I am trying to run this on Safari on Mac OS X but I'm having problems moving. I'm not sure if I can restart to the title screen either; restarting the brower and refreshing the page seems not to change anything.

Do you have any idea what the issue might be?

Drabiter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:53am

LoL I love the BGM, as do as the BGM won't stop after I closed the tab :) Neat and simple.

Daniel H says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:54am

Unfortunately, I forgot to add a quit button during game play so being unable to restart to the title screen is my fault. other than that what problems are you getting?

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:09am

Well well well. It was pretty much awesome except for one tiny thing: I got lost and I gave up. :( Part of me was hoping each guy would have his own message, and I found two guys in a row who "... *he just stares at you.*" so I was like, ooh I must be getting close to the exit! Well, elephant if I know. I wandered around for what _felt_ like forever, once the thoughts started creeping in "has anyone found their way out? these guys make it seem like they haven't" and I just gave up. Is it beatable? Is there a way out? Or am I the light at the end of their tunnel?

Well.. your game has me thinking anyway. Great job!

Spiridios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:59am

Great execution and interpretation of theme.

Daniel H says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:17pm

There is a way out. the default map is kinda big i suppose, but you can change it in the options menu.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:28pm

This was aMAZEing. It also could have been 3x resolution without compromising on the theme, my old & tired eyes were even older & tireder after playing.

Khaldrin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:01pm

I am still runnng around this maze - feels like forever - trying to find a way out. I really want to know what happens at the end... I like it.

ZeroDivide says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:03pm

For some reason, the music was really distorted for me, so I can't rate it. Otherwise, it's a fun maze game; I especially liked the illumination effect.

fr_automatik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:22pm

The music is awesome, the graphics aren't bad,but it's a little too much slow-paced for me.

Exergy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Nice shadows/lighting! Tiny yet elegant :)

Daniel H says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:59am

Thanks for the great reviews everyone. I have just fixed a bug that made some mazes unbeatable so sorry if that happened to you. Also if you are having trouble with the music, it is in MIDI format so any sort of distorted sounds probably has to do with your computer's midi-devices. I can't really help you with that, but thanks again everybody. I appreciate it. :D

GarethIW says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:05am

The lighting was nicely done, disallowing a player from seeing the way through a maze before going through it naturally maintains the purpose very well. I would say having some shorter levels at the start to give players a sense of achievement might fuel them to conquer the larger mazes. Nicely done though, oddly flavourful.

cableplays says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Fun Game, but got boring after a while when I couldn't find my way! haha What library did you use with Java to make the game? Like the corner effects and the npc's kept me entertained! Good job!

Daniel H says ...
May 24, 2013 @ 1:10pm

woo 133rd in humor! I'm down with that. :)
Oh and I didn't use any libraries except the built in awt and swing graphics libraries.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]