April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

BlindSight

by silentspartan72 - Jam Entry

We are happy to announce our first Ludum Dare entry after a weekend of countless hours spent debugging the scripts!

Instructions:
You find yourself in a pitch black dark maze, with nothing but your flashlight for company. You must find your way out, but something is in the darkness...

Controls: WASD to move & mouse to control flashlight beam.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Audio(Jam)3.85
#43Mood(Jam)3.79
#133Theme(Jam)3.67
#152Overall(Jam)3.45
#205Fun(Jam)3.07
#283Innovation(Jam)2.93
#307Graphics(Jam)3.04
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

Armix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:47am

I played the game and really tried to compel myself to keep searching a seemingly hopelessly long and linear labyrinth, but I just didn't know if I would find anything, or figure out what I was doing there in the first place. It felt a little dull and aimless... If there is something in the darkness, perhaps make it "tease" the player, providing maybe a sense of horror "stingers", whilst also using it as a device to lead the player in what they think is "the right direction". But I have to say that I did like the foggy effect that is evident in the rays of the torchlight.

eedok says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:18am

Incredible mood, great lighting, great audio. I like the enemies in theory but in practice they're just frozen when you can see them? Not that scary, and there does not seem to be enough of them? Maybe cut down the maze size to keep it more interesting.

Alexander says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:21am

I agree with Armix. Hard to move forward when it seems so hopeless! Maybe that was the point, but I hate hopelessness!

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:55am

"Creepy" wasn't something I was expecting in a Ludum Dare game - nice! It was a bit barren, though - long wide hallways with nothing in them made me a lot more reckless, and started to break the great tension that the game started off with.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:56am

Who knew that a 2D game could be so creepy?

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:06am

I didn't understand much wat I had to do, I was scared. Maybe that was the poin

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:41am

I was looking forward to a good old fashioned monster chase, making sure to check my flank and so on. Once I found an enemy, however, I thrust myself upon him, as it seemed a quicker way of getting out of the maze than finding an exit.

Wiering says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:27pm

I found a key but nowhere to use it.

Grouflon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Crazy ambience with almost nothing: that's minimalism! I really enjoyed the experience of playing your game.
The audio is a bit repetitive but the stinger really surprised me on the apparition (I s**t in my pants ;) Many 5 stars for you guys, really god job!

Hawk says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Hawk log entry #46: "Alright, Jimmy, do you have the final key? The walls aren't helping me, I'm getting real tired of their crap." -Hawk, day 46 of being stuck in a labyrinth of some sorts.

No really, is there a final key? Is this maze at all procedural generated? I've found the gate and have 2 out of 3 keys.

Hawk entry log #47: "Why does this one gate need 3 keys to open it? If Jimmy doesn't help me find this key soon, Imma just sit right here by this my friend gate. Jimmy, if you're reading this, you're welcome to join me." -Hawk, day 47.531445875621588754 of being stuck in a labyrinth of some sorts.

Hawk says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Hawk log entry #48: "Just met one of Jimmy's clones..."

May 2, 2013 @ 12:08am

Great job on a minimalistic horror game! You actually managed to scare me a couple of times ^^.
But i felt the game needed something to sort-of point me into the right direction, or maybe allow me to see if I'm making progress towards finding a key. Like a heart-beat that could get stronger the closer I was to the key or something.

PhaZ90771 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Good game. Great mood. There's to much time spent without really making any progress though. I did run into a problem where I got trapped in a dead end, since the creature was blocking the way.

nseward says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Loved the mode and style.

Boiúna says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:14am

It's a good job for the first Ludum Dare, but i missed some more instructions of direction, like a map or something like this.

Sakuyan says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:36am

Awesome concept, the mood of the game was well captured.

Spiridios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:03am

Awesome mood and the audio reenforced it so well.

csanyk says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:27pm

That thing is creepy!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]