April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Writer's Block

by Christopher Schulte - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game of haiku
Form a beautiful poem
Inspire forever




Made with FlashDevelop, flixel, and Gimp.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#40Innovation4.05
#153Theme4.00
#363Mood3.13
#576Overall3.15
#638Graphics2.93
#679Humor2.06
#952Fun2.55

Comments

metadept says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:48am

This is fantastic. Should keep me occupied until the rating opens up.

nicotuason says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:22am

I feel a terrible sense of dread now. The game told me:

PERVERSE FATE FORFEIT HAND
UNEXPECTED POWER WAIT

Awesome game. I only with it showed you the Mandarin characters along with the English translations in the end.

baldwinthree says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:56am

Pretty sure this is telling me to pick up a prostitute.

"FAMILY DOOR STREET
MUSIC BOOK SILVER FAMILY
FRIEND ESCORT SINGLE"

Very original idea! Fun to play with the shapes of the characters.

paulopn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:25am

This is great!
I got "HOLD PROSPER ESCORT PERFORMANCE VICTORY MOON BRIDGE MONEY SNOW NOSE"....what

Fervir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:44am

Very creative and interesting

loxo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Interesting idea.

dualtagh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Really interesting idea, I like it!

graytest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:20pm

This is great!

dick_claus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Amazing. Inspiring.
Sometimes adjectives are nouns I guess.

2kah says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:22pm

UNDERSTAND DAINTY
POEM FLAT NURTURE POEM
HIT NORTH HAPPINESS
:D

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Simple, inspiring, nice.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Very cool idea, could've used a bit of music though. ^^

fussycashew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Pretty cool stuff! Although it doesn't seem like I got any cool ones like everyone else.

Ragzouken says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:52am

My mission if I choose to accept it:

THICK CHART COURAGE GREEN
PROTECT JUVENILE CONCLUDE
DEFEAT OIL AFTER

Very interesting idea!

May 1, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Love this. Thank you.

EggDestroyer says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:46pm

It didn't seemed like much for me, I thought I was missing something, but at the end, I made several haikus and I liked it.
Very interesting idea, which could have been magnified by soothing music and peaceful sound effects... which is really hard to do anyway, and nothing is better than unfitting themes.

Zim the Fox says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:13am

Escort, snow nose... This Haiku generator seems to have interesting... tastes.

It's a fun little application, and I love you get the kanji/Chinese characters.

tankete says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Neat. I wish I had a little more control over the writing process, but extremely creative. Just add a bit of music and the ability to see the final poem with the real characters. Great work!

EMPLOY HOME LANGUAGE
NORTH SELF WHITE COW WEST NATION
FULL SCENERY CHEAP

elbowroom says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Interesting idea. Kind of like a fortune cookie.

mortus says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:10am

Great game. I actually think mine's pretty deep and probably about massive industrialization:
AGRICULTURE FADE
COLD LANGUAGE NAME LOCATION
SHINE GOOD IRON WEAR

May 13, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Really interesting, but as you'd imagine, it creates some pretty nonsensical haikus most of the time. I'd share the last one I got, which I liked a lot, but the game ate my cursor and I had to ALT+F4 to get out... Good job though! :)

whilefun says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 2:46am

Ok, that's pretty original :) At first I didn't get what it was, then saw the first result. Super cool idea!

May 21, 2013 @ 2:43am

Now that the compo is complete, I'd like to thank everyone for the reviews and awesome feedback, I greatly appreciate you taking the time to play my entry!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]